Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very good- I used less butter and flour than recommended. The potatoes thicken the soup also. And I did not peel the potatoes since the peel adds extra flavor, texture and nutrition to the soup. I added onion powder and garlic powder to the soup and kept the cheese, scallions and bacon off so people could top the soup as desired. I chopped broccoli and steamed to use as an additional topping. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
very good my wife loves it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe was really good, I made a couple of small variations. I diced 2 carrots and 1/2 a yellow onion (about 1/2 cup) and sauteed them in 1/3 cup of the reserved bacon drippings. I then added 1/3 cup of the butter and continued with the roux and the rest of the recipe. Nice layering of flavors with the variations, I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'm giving the base of this recipe 5 stars, but it's really my modifications that make it a 5 (in my opinion). I read the reviews below and took some ideas from others. I try and eat light so I tweaked this to cut some calories. I used only a 1/2 stick of unsalted butter, 3 cups FF milk, 4 cups chicken stock or broth (I've done both), omitted the sour cream completely, and added garlic salt or powder. If it's still too thin I add a little more flour or corn starch. Because I used unsalted butter I did add a little bacon and a little cheese to add salt and thickness to the soup. Bacon, cheese and scallions were used as a topping for whomever wanted extra. I've made it twice now and my husband even has rave reviews- that's saying a lot!!! I too think it's better the second day. If it gets too thick I just add in a little milk when reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Excellent, thick soup. Because I like extra spice, I added two whole, dried cayenne peppers, a pint of heavy cream, and 1/2 a yellow onion, chopped and sauteed in bacon fat. I believe good soup uses what I have on hand--so at the end, I removed the two peppers before I added to the bacon, cheddar cheese, and green onions an 8oz pkg of baby Bellas (mushrooms). It fed 3 grown men with just one serving take-home container for our guest. If you plan to feed teenagers, I strongly recommend doubling this recipe. Six servings, as stated in the above recipe must be for dainty, strict diet-driven individuals whose stomachs have been pre-shrunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I thought this would be too pasty with that much flour and butter, so I used my standard 2 Tbsp of each for the roux, and I used a mix of 2% milk and skim (cleaning out the fridge!), probably totaling closer to 5 cups of milk. For flavor, I added a clove of garlic, some chives and used Italian truffled salt. On a cold and blustery day like today, this was heaven in a bowl! Even with the lighter milk, you can still get a thick enough soup but just simmering it a bit longer. I also left my peels on the potatoes - that might not appeal to many people, but I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a really good recipe and I highly recommend it. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple of times, and love it. I do make a few modifications though. I use 3 cups of milk, and 3 cups of chicken stock. I also only peel half of the potatoes. I think it keeps the soup from tasting like mashed potatoes. I also cut up a leek, and saute it with the bacon. Lastly, I add a head of roasted garlic. I think it turns a relatively bland dish into a knock-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was very good - it definitely serves more than 6. Maybe more like 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I LOVE potato soup and this one is a winner! I made it as written, but with two small changes. FIrst, margarine? PUH-LEASE! Butter, baby. The second was unintentional but I think it made an improvement based on some of the negative reviews. Some are mentioning that it came out mushy. Well, I cut up the potatoes and threw them in there without cooking them first. I like my potato soup to be more like chowder - thick and chunky - and that seemed to do the trick. I am terrible at making gravies and roux, but take your time and put only a bit of flour in at a time. Then, be sure to add the first 2 cups of milk slowly, stirring it in well as you go. You can then add the rest of the milk and you'll get a nice base for the soup. Two suggestions. First, it was a little thicker than I would like it actually, so I might thin it with a little chicken broth next time. It was also a bit more peppery than I like it - and I like pepper. I might cut it down by half and let people add it to their taste. I will likely add a bit of yellow onion next time. Not a lot, just enough to give it a smidge of onion flavor before adding the green onions at serving time. Overall - excellent and EASY even for the roux challenged like myself. I will be making this one often for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States