Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very easy and good! I only used half the bacon and no onions as my family doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Good basic potato soup recipe.We all agreed, it was much better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goodmoodfood
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I had been looking for a recipe for a potato soup....I made this soup for my family and it was a big hit and a cold first day of spring night. We all loved this baked potato soup and it was so very easy to make. Thank you for a great potato soup we will be making this for winters to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodmoodfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was very lack luster in the flavor department but it was a good base to build off of. I added chives, a small sweet onion chopped, roasted garlic and some good smoked paprika and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I didn't have left over baked potatoes, but I really wanted to try this recipe! I just let the potatoes boil a bit longer than it said to. I had to use real onions instead of green onions and I added them with the milk. I omitted the butter and flour mixture and that was fine. At the end I had to add a bit of garlic powder because it was a bit bland. Despite all my lame substitutions, this was a hit! I'll make it again someday following the recipe correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very good- I used less butter and flour than recommended. The potatoes thicken the soup also. And I did not peel the potatoes since the peel adds extra flavor, texture and nutrition to the soup. I added onion powder and garlic powder to the soup and kept the cheese, scallions and bacon off so people could top the soup as desired. I chopped broccoli and steamed to use as an additional topping. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
very good my wife loves it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe was really good, I made a couple of small variations. I diced 2 carrots and 1/2 a yellow onion (about 1/2 cup) and sauteed them in 1/3 cup of the reserved bacon drippings. I then added 1/3 cup of the butter and continued with the roux and the rest of the recipe. Nice layering of flavors with the variations, I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'm giving the base of this recipe 5 stars, but it's really my modifications that make it a 5 (in my opinion). I read the reviews below and took some ideas from others. I try and eat light so I tweaked this to cut some calories. I used only a 1/2 stick of unsalted butter, 3 cups FF milk, 4 cups chicken stock or broth (I've done both), omitted the sour cream completely, and added garlic salt or powder. If it's still too thin I add a little more flour or corn starch. Because I used unsalted butter I did add a little bacon and a little cheese to add salt and thickness to the soup. Bacon, cheese and scallions were used as a topping for whomever wanted extra. I've made it twice now and my husband even has rave reviews- that's saying a lot!!! I too think it's better the second day. If it gets too thick I just add in a little milk when reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Excellent, thick soup. Because I like extra spice, I added two whole, dried cayenne peppers, a pint of heavy cream, and 1/2 a yellow onion, chopped and sauteed in bacon fat. I believe good soup uses what I have on hand--so at the end, I removed the two peppers before I added to the bacon, cheddar cheese, and green onions an 8oz pkg of baby Bellas (mushrooms). It fed 3 grown men with just one serving take-home container for our guest. If you plan to feed teenagers, I strongly recommend doubling this recipe. Six servings, as stated in the above recipe must be for dainty, strict diet-driven individuals whose stomachs have been pre-shrunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States