Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Very easy to make. My 9 y/o said it is the best thing she has ever eaten. I don't know if I should be offended or not since I cook everyday lol but this recipe was great. I followed exactly except I used half and half instead of milk. Yummy!!! Thanks Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I added celery, onions, and used 4 medium (about 5 inch long) potatoes. The soup was pretty good, however it could be seen as bland. I meant to add chicken bouillon as suggested by another review, but I forgot. :( While there is nothing BAD about this soup, it's definitely a awesome basic soup to finish off with your own spices. For the "problem" of thickness, I used 7 cups milk, 2/3 flour, sour cream, and cheese and it was pretty thick (how I like it personally).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was fantastic! I did make a couple changes after reading some reviews saying it was bland. I replaced 2 cups of the milk with chicken bouillon (made from granules) and since it's going right to my hips anyway, I used butter instead of margarine. This was so easy and so delicious. My daughter requested the recipe be added to her 'off to college' cookbook. TIP for easy bacon: lay bacon slices in single layer on cold cookie sheet (with a rim), not touching, and place in COLD oven. Turn oven to 400 degrees and set timer for 17 minutes. Perfect bacon every time. Remove to paper towels to drain. Sometimes takes a minute or two more, depending on bacon thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenmont, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Not very healthy but god it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love a good baked potato soup recipe, but this isn't quite it. First, you don't need even half of all that bacon, margarine or milk. And let's face it, this particular potato soup recipe has the word "baked" in the title. So bake those potatoes, cool them and start making soup later in the day. When I bake the potatoes, I also bake some leeks, halved lengthwise, one whole leek for every large potato. Then everything cools while I make a very thin bechamel sauce out of milk and chicken broth in equal parts (2 cups liquid to every large baker), a little bacon grease and flour, and some cheddar cheese. You're looking for just a hint of cheese flavor, not a lot. Then I liquify the baked leeks and half the (peeled) potatoes with a hand blender, stir in the cubed baked potatoes (with some skin) and then start playing with the other flavors we all love about a baked potato. Chives, bacon bits, green onions, sour cream or Greek yogurt, depending on your preference. This version really comes together at the end, when you add the "stuff". Tasting for salt is a must at this point. But the base flavor should echo a baked potato, and you can't imitate that by boiling them. If you want a good, quick potato soup, then yes, boil away, this recipe will please you. But if you are looking for the flavor of a baked potato, you have to actually bake the potatoes. It's not a huge extra step, it just requires a bit of thinking ahead. You'll be glad you went to the bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this tonight after my fiancé had oral surgery and needed something soft to eat. The prep was simple and easy, the cooking was really just stirring and, quite literally, throwing things into a pot. And for those who still have questions, the video will be a great help :-) All in all, this came out amazingly well! I didn't change too much of anything, added a little more of ingredients to taste (the sour cream, salt, and pepper) and I did make extra to go on too as well. We both loved this and is so much tastier than any canned version sold out there. I look forward to making this again and finding some changes that add to it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Beautifully thick & creamy soup. I substituted 3 cups of milk with chicken stock and my baked potatoes broke up nicely after peeling and placing into the soup so there was no need to chop them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Very yummy & Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made it with 4 cups of milk and one can of chicken broth. It was delicious and my mother, who is a great cook and 98 years old, loved it as well. Instead of cooking bacon, I used the Real Crumbled Bacon from Hormel and sprinkled that on top of the bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I usually don't like baked potato soup, but I loved this soup! I used low sodium bacon and crumbled it using a food processor. I baked the russets in the microwave and after they cooled I peeled and chopped them, leaving them in big chunks because they were soft. I used lactose-free milk, regular sour cream, and the green onions. The shredded cheddar had 3 kinds of cheddar cheese. I used all measurements as called for and didn't add the salt or pepper until the end, as directed. I will definitely make this again. My husband thought it would taste good with clams in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States