Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Tried a healthier version of this soup (down from 60 grams of fat per serv. to 8!!) Cut out the butter completely (we didn't even miss it amazingly) used 6 cups of 2% milk, reduced fat sharp cheddar, reduced fat sour cream. Reserved a 1/4 cup each of sour cream and cheese plus all of the bacon crumbles & used 1tbsp each to top each serving. DELICIOUS - never would have thought it healthy! I also used about 6 potatos and coursley mashed them as opposed to cubed. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I make this soup all the time and my family loves it. To thin it down some I use 3 cups of milk and add chicken broth to our preferred thickness. The chicken broth adds even more flavor too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
908 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I read every review only because I believe that even experienced cooks can always learn something. Some people complained that the soup was bland. At first taste, while it was still in the pot, I agreed. It tasted like soupy mashed potatoes. I added garlic and onion powder, parsley and cayenne pepper for some zip. When I initially viewed the recipe I felt that there was way too much butter/flour. I cut both back by half, not only to cut down on the fat, but because other reviewers stated that the soup was too thick. You definitely don't need all that roux to make this soup thick. If you do want it thicker, just add more potato, if you want it thinner, add more milk or chicken broth. This is the kind of recipe that you can put in whatever spices, herbs or meats that suit your own taste. You really can't ruin it. Overall, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
824 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Fantastic!! Better than any potato soup I've had in a restaurant and definitely my fav soup ever!! I have done a bit of tweaking to suit my own tastes.... sub 2 cups chicken stock for 2 of the cups of milk, instead of green onions I add a finely chopped yellow onion and 2 cloves garlic that I've lightly browned in the bacon grease. I mash the potatoes a little bit with fork as well, cut the sour cream down a bit, save about half of the cheese and all of the crumbled bacon to top the soup with. It's even more flavorful and thick the next day. If it gets too thick I just add a little milk when reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was great meal. My husband and I loved it. But we did something a little diffrent. It did not have much flavor. So we got a ranch packet out. The one that you make the ranch dressing with and just added some to the soup and it turned out great. We did nto add all of it just enough for taste. Just thought this might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I love this recipe! Can I give it more than five stars? I have made it several times now and it is a favorite at our house making a meal in itself. I will throw in about half of the potatoe skins for a little extra texture. The really nice thing about this soup is you can adjust it to taste. I have added everything from the onion, sour cream and bacon they suggest to steak and chives. It is also really easy and quick unlike my potato soup recipe which I have to cook for several hours and usually forget about scorching the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was exelent. It tasted a little bland the day that I made it. By the second day all of the flavors came out. It was perfect!! I sugest letting it sit over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe does have potential, I wish I could omit the star rating, but that feature no longer works. I tried this recipe exactly, but it was bland and had a thick flour taste. My hubby said it reminded him of the paste from when he was in grade school. If this sits for any length of time it becomes similiar to mashed potatos.. For all of you who said it was "bland" or "milky", try omitting 3 cups of milk and instead, cook half of your potatos in 3 cups of chicken broth. Puree those, but bake the other half of the taters and cut them in small cubes. Add you milk to the tater puree and heat to a simmer, you should not need the roux, potatos are a natural thickener. I would recommend adding some salt, garlic powder and maybe even some chopped onion to the broth before you cook the potatoes, for added flavor. Continue with the recipe ingreadiens and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
VERY good soup. I recommend being careful how much flour you put in, though. I put too much in. The thickness comes at the final stages, so don't worry if it seems thin. Also, I like it with more potato and bacon in it like a chowder. I will definately be making this during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Thick and creamy - and very easy to make! This recipe is a 'keeper'. I lightened it up by using 1% milk and fat-free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States