Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by jbarrera
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipes is really good! It does come out thick so I did add more 2% milk at the end to thin it out. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder and some bacon grease to enhance the bacon flavor (obviously I'm not going for the healthy version) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
A very hearty soup my family enjoy's it everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Really tasty recipe. I read a handful of reviews prior to making this and am surprised no one mentioned adding an acid to the recipe. I didn't realize it until I tasted it... only the salt is working to bring the flavors through to your tastebuds. It needed some acid and something bitter to truly make the most of the ingredients. I squeezed a quarter of a lemon in there at a time until it reached my liking (ended up at 3/4 of a lemon but would have been fine at 1/2). For the bitter aspect, I added a dash of cayenne. You can't taste the cayenne, but you'll notice more flavors revealed. A tip for the potatoes, I peeled and cubed them for faster cooking. I put them in a 9x13 and covered with foil, then roasted at 400 for 30 minutes. Check them to see if they mash easily, if they don't, throw them back in the oven for a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good base for a potato soup, but I need to adjust for my family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is awesome!! Thick, creamy, full of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I took others advice and left out the butter completely. Just mixed the flour with a little milk instead. Added 1/2 sautéed onion and minced garlic (didnt have green onions). Used 6 reg potatoes, 4 cups skim milk, 2 cups chicken broth, some garlic powder, 1/8-1/4 tsp cayenne, handful dried parsley and kept the light sour cream, sharp cheddar, and a few bacon pieces for on top of each bowl. Absolutely delicious, tons of flavor with not much added salt. The best part is I lowed the calories to about 369 per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Made this today. I used a can of chicken broth in place of 1 cup milk and 6 baked potatoes instead of 4. Came out awesome! Without a doubt I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe! The whole family did, even my six year old! I used light sour cream, 2% milk (4 cups), chicken broth (2 cups), 2 chicken boulion cubes, and added a little cayenne after reading other reviews. We also had some French bread for dipping. Very filling! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
great soup!! had a great consistancy. It needs more flavor, add more salt and some chicken bollion. I also added some carrots and chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Wonderful, creamy potato soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States