Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe for baked potato soup. If you follow the recipe to a t, it turns out really pasty, so I added more milk to it. I didn't measure how much milk I added, but I gradually added the milk and stirred the soup until I got the consistency I wanted to get. I adding the milk after it was all done, but next time I will do it while it's still cooking. I also used butter instead of margarine. After reading other reviews about the soup being bland, I decided to add some garlic powder, Sazon Accent, and extra salt. Also, I think it takes much longer to prepare this recipe than stated above. Now it could be that I take too long to cook and I have 4 year old triplets, but it just seemed like it took me much longer to get it done. The soup turned out great. We all loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by richel
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This came out better than I expected considering I never made this before. I added come parsley and minced onion,considering I don't have green onions, and still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This Baked Potato Soup was great! I did make a couple of adjustments like the other reviews suggested. 1) I used 1/2 of butter and flour. 2) I used 3 1/2 cups of skim milk and two cans of Campbell's low sodium chicken broth. 3) Used 3 large potatoes and 6 green onions. 4) I used 3 Knorr Chicken Bouillon cubes and I did not add any salt. 6) I used fat free cheese and sour cream to cut down on the fat and calories. My soup was awesome. I had a ton left over to last the week while the cold weather is coming through! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent soup and I will definitely make it again. I substituted 1 of the cups of milk with a cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is wonderful my husband loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved the recipe but made a few tweaks. The recipe as is will easily make 8 BIG servings. I cut back to a "half" size and still fed 3 adults, and have two servings left over. Following some of the other users recommendations I made the following changes. 1. I did use all of the grease from the bacon (mmmm... bacon grease) 2. Instead of doing all of the milk. I split it with half chicken broth, half milk. I also added a cube of chicken bullion to add some flavor. 3. I added one tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Gave it a nice flavor! 3. I sautéed 1 teaspoon minced garlic and just under 1/4 cut of minced sweet union in the butter before making the roux. 4. Lastly. I MASHED 1/3 of the potatoes to give it a thicker, almost chowder like soup. All in all... it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My whole family loved it! We did half milk and half chicken broth and added fresh minced garlic and onion powder. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great way to repurpose ingredients from a previous meal. We had baked potatoes the night before and I made extra for this recipe. Instead of using the green onions, I sautéed some diced onions, red & green bell pepper and celery and added it with the potatoes. I also added a a tsp of Thyme for a little more flavor, but would have been great without. My 11 year old and his friend loved it too. Asked that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this soup for my family and everyone loved it (including me!) I'm sure I will be making this recipe time and again now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States