Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This Baked Potato Soup was great! I did make a couple of adjustments like the other reviews suggested. 1) I used 1/2 of butter and flour. 2) I used 3 1/2 cups of skim milk and two cans of Campbell's low sodium chicken broth. 3) Used 3 large potatoes and 6 green onions. 4) I used 3 Knorr Chicken Bouillon cubes and I did not add any salt. 6) I used fat free cheese and sour cream to cut down on the fat and calories. My soup was awesome. I had a ton left over to last the week while the cold weather is coming through! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent soup and I will definitely make it again. I substituted 1 of the cups of milk with a cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is wonderful my husband loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved the recipe but made a few tweaks. The recipe as is will easily make 8 BIG servings. I cut back to a "half" size and still fed 3 adults, and have two servings left over. Following some of the other users recommendations I made the following changes. 1. I did use all of the grease from the bacon (mmmm... bacon grease) 2. Instead of doing all of the milk. I split it with half chicken broth, half milk. I also added a cube of chicken bullion to add some flavor. 3. I added one tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Gave it a nice flavor! 3. I sautéed 1 teaspoon minced garlic and just under 1/4 cut of minced sweet union in the butter before making the roux. 4. Lastly. I MASHED 1/3 of the potatoes to give it a thicker, almost chowder like soup. All in all... it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My whole family loved it! We did half milk and half chicken broth and added fresh minced garlic and onion powder. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great way to repurpose ingredients from a previous meal. We had baked potatoes the night before and I made extra for this recipe. Instead of using the green onions, I sautéed some diced onions, red & green bell pepper and celery and added it with the potatoes. I also added a a tsp of Thyme for a little more flavor, but would have been great without. My 11 year old and his friend loved it too. Asked that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this soup for my family and everyone loved it (including me!) I'm sure I will be making this recipe time and again now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I only added three cups of milk and one can of chicken broth. It still was a little on the thick side. Really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this last night and it was delicious! My boyfriend said it was the best potato soup he's had, and even posted about it on Facebook. Once I added the sour cream, cheese, and bacon this was NOT bland at all. My only changes were that I used butter (not margarine), used 2% milk because I had it on hand, and cut back to 6 cups of milk and half a cup of flour. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States