Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Really good, but a little bland as written. It needed more salt and pepper, maybe garlic would be good too. I skipped the sour cream to save calories and we didn't miss it. As others said, it was too thick so next time I will try it with half the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I gave the recipe three stars because I had to doctor it up a bit to get it to my liking. After following the original recipe, I changed it up a bit to my liking: First, I parboiled the potatoes in 4 c chicken broth, while cooking the bacon in the microwave. I reserved the bacon grease (which actually ended up being 2/3 c of fat). I then made the roux with the bacon grease and flour. For my liquid, I used 6 cups of whole milk and the reserved chicken stock from parboiling the potatoes. I then followed the recipe, as directed, adding seasoning, as needed. I am, by no means, claiming this is healthy; it's quite the opposite. However, it IS delicious. My friends & family frequently request I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So easy and so good. I usually add a little more milk to mine..some how mine ends up being a little thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
We have made this decadent soup a few times now and it is so dang good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davisduo88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Made this for New Years, and I used left over ham I had frozen after christmas instead of bacon, and it was DELICIOUS. Everyone I was celebrating with loved it and my co-workers were jealous when I brought leftovers for lunch. strongly reccomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew W. Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beers
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
The wife and kids think it's awesome. The potatoes need to cook just a little bit more or cut into smaller cubes to cook quicker. All in all a big hit. Especially on cold weather days like today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyndsay Ellis
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Very good soup. I loved the idea of using baked potatoes. So much easier than peeling and boiling a pot of potatoes! I didn't have any sour cream on hand but it tastes just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay Ellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Oh my my....this soup is very delicious, but not one I will make often due to all the fat and calories. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States