Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I have made this recipe about 4 times now. It's been a huge crowd-pleaser! I substituted hot Italian sausage for the bacon (The heat from the sausage was really nice!) and used Yukon gold potatoes. I also used all skim milk and lite sour cream. It was wonderful! Used butter instead of oleo for the roux. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My husband had this at a restaurant and requested I make it. He loved it and said it was better than the restaurants. I'm sure I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie5576

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This soup was wonderful - perfect for a cold winter day!! Made exactly as shown. Next time will wait and add the browned bacon on top of soup as I serve it - felt like the bacon got too soggy - especially with left overs. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My family loved this!! Only changes I made, only 3 cups of milk and 4 cups of chicken broth. Also, I only put 1/3 cup of all purpose flour, it was plenty thick enough making these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica's Mom :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I loved this recipe. I did add come garlic and it needed salt, but overall a great base. Just add what you like for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this recipe on a smaller scale but some changes I made were leaving some of the potato skins on, plain yogurt instead of sour cream, and less milk and added chicken broth as suggested in one of the comments above. My dad doesn't eat pork so I use turkey bacon and add a little garlic salt with pepper. One thing I would like to try is olive oil instead of butter but I'm hesitant. Either way this version was my favorite I've made/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
First time making this soup and the recipe was awesome! Not much of a soup fan so I usually just buy it canned for my husband but he was over the moon about it homemade. Only thing I'd do differently is boil the cubed potatoes for about 10 min before adding them in to soften them up quicker. Also used garlic salt instead of regular for more flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This a great recipe. I especially love it because it is made with ingredients that I always have on hand. All experienced cooks ( over 40 years myself) know that you season to taste. I liked that she didn't over season, because you can always add more, you can't take it out. Thanks for sharing Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made this a couple times and everyone loves it. I made a few modifications, though. I used just over 1/4 cup butter and subbed Greek yogurt for the sour cream. I didn't bother with peeling the potatoes and just mashed them up, skins and all. I also took the advice of another reviewer and used 3 tablespoons of ranch seasoning (I make my own) and also added garlic powder and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this as the main dish for a party figuring it would be good to keep in the crockpot as well as filling, plus I could prepare in advance and then have no worries during the party. I tripled the recipe. This really is an excellent recipe but I did think it was a bit bland. After tasting it, I looked at reviews and followed another reviewers suggestion and added ranch seasoning packet to the soup. That made all the difference in the world. However, you MUST be careful. The dairy ingredients in this will scorch / brown rapidly. If you keep it in a crockpot only keep it on warm, and don't even try to keep it on low on the stove. Just a hint. I will definitely make this again but not to sit out and keep warm. It was still really good a little browned but at its best first made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States