Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great potato soup recipe. I did find it really thick so I used an additional cup of milk and a cup of chicken broth. It set overnight before serving to let the flavors blend. It was a hit! I added brocolli florets (frozen and cooked) so that each could add or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Kicked it up a notch by substituting 1 cup of heavy cream for one of the cups of milk....added a little bacon grease to the roux...made it incredibly rich....but super thick...so I used a cup or so of chicken broth to thin it some....amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Summers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
When I invited my neighbor to eat potato soup, she said she still had some left she had made a couple of days ago. She brought her "great" chicken broth based potato soup for us to taste. Hmmm, that is really hot (with pepper). Anyway, I made this recipe. My husband said, "Now. THAT is great potato soup!" Both of us had two bowels and we love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Love4Food gives a great review of this soup. I would not make this recipe as presented. It is tasty but too thick and gooey. Follow the advice of Love4Food and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Tried this recipe last night, OMG! I used non-fat Parmalat instead of milk and it was delicious. I also added the leftover frozen Honey Baked Ham from New Years, and only used 4 slices of thick cut bacon. Some shallots and garlic (my own addition) gave it great flavor. A little dab of sour cream on top and its ready! This is a great base recipe and allows room for your own additions. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this tonight, and it was great. I used one cup of chicken broth and 6 cups of 2% milk, and I used real butter instead of margarine. It had plenty of flavor. I also cheated and used a couple of packs of the real bacon bits (1-1/2 pks in the soup and the rest of garnish)instead of frying my own bacon, and it was really good. Served with sliced, toasted french bread with roasted garlic. A really good, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Devine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This soup is better than any I have ever ordered out. Very easy and not an all day kitchen job I sub 3 cup of milk and added chicken stock in its place and added chives, garlic, and a bit of dill. Thanks so much for sharing We will be having this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Loved it!! Looked for a recipe online and read many of the reviews on some of the modifications so I went with this one. Tried it for the 1st time and the adjustments I made were (2cups of chicken broth + 5 cups milk) and added 2 cloves of diced garlic. I didn't bake the potatoes first so it simmered for an additional 15+/- minutes. This was my first time making potato soup and it was a HIT, my husband loved it!!! I took some to work the next day to share and no complaints :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe was great. Easy to do and turned out fantastic. My wife and family could not get enough of it. I recomend watching the video if you have trouble duplicating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States