Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made this a couple times and everyone loves it. I made a few modifications, though. I used just over 1/4 cup butter and subbed Greek yogurt for the sour cream. I didn't bother with peeling the potatoes and just mashed them up, skins and all. I also took the advice of another reviewer and used 3 tablespoons of ranch seasoning (I make my own) and also added garlic powder and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this as the main dish for a party figuring it would be good to keep in the crockpot as well as filling, plus I could prepare in advance and then have no worries during the party. I tripled the recipe. This really is an excellent recipe but I did think it was a bit bland. After tasting it, I looked at reviews and followed another reviewers suggestion and added ranch seasoning packet to the soup. That made all the difference in the world. However, you MUST be careful. The dairy ingredients in this will scorch / brown rapidly. If you keep it in a crockpot only keep it on warm, and don't even try to keep it on low on the stove. Just a hint. I will definitely make this again but not to sit out and keep warm. It was still really good a little browned but at its best first made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Not good as leftovers, bacon gets soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Lyall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My family LOVED this soup and I can't wait to make it again. I didn't have left over potato so I just diced some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This soup is AMAZING! I followed the instructions exactly. It's really think but I find it good that way. All I added was a little extra seasoning for some extra flavor. Now this is my new official comfort food haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made it for our annual "Souper Bowl" and it will definitely have a repeat appearance next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My guys and I loved it!!! This definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is an excellent potato soup. Next time I will use less pepper. I added a few extra "potato" seasonings, but it's very good just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe for baked potato soup. If you follow the recipe to a t, it turns out really pasty, so I added more milk to it. I didn't measure how much milk I added, but I gradually added the milk and stirred the soup until I got the consistency I wanted to get. I adding the milk after it was all done, but next time I will do it while it's still cooking. I also used butter instead of margarine. After reading other reviews about the soup being bland, I decided to add some garlic powder, Sazon Accent, and extra salt. Also, I think it takes much longer to prepare this recipe than stated above. Now it could be that I take too long to cook and I have 4 year old triplets, but it just seemed like it took me much longer to get it done. The soup turned out great. We all loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States