Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My family loved this soup. It was quick and easy to make, and tasted better than any soup we have had at a restaurant. I made as directed using skim milk and sharp cheddar. I did substitute butter for margarine. Next time I will use reduced fat sour cream and cheese as well -- I fully expect that it will still taste amazing. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very delicious! Couple of adjustments... Instead of cooking bacon in the beginning I used real crumbled bacon from Costco (approx 3/4 - 1 C.). I used a whole yellow onion instead of green (because it's what I had) and I sauteed it in the butter before adding the flour and milk. This seems to bring out a really yummy flavor in the onion. Also, I didn't peel the potatoes. I really like to leave the skin on my taters as I feel that it gives more nourishment and texture. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Made it for some company and got compliments. Will definitely be my go-to potato soup recipe!!! Fast and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Never had potato soup before so glad that I made this. LOVED IT!!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great potato soup recipe. I did find it really thick so I used an additional cup of milk and a cup of chicken broth. It set overnight before serving to let the flavors blend. It was a hit! I added brocolli florets (frozen and cooked) so that each could add or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Kicked it up a notch by substituting 1 cup of heavy cream for one of the cups of milk....added a little bacon grease to the roux...made it incredibly rich....but super thick...so I used a cup or so of chicken broth to thin it some....amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Summers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
When I invited my neighbor to eat potato soup, she said she still had some left she had made a couple of days ago. She brought her "great" chicken broth based potato soup for us to taste. Hmmm, that is really hot (with pepper). Anyway, I made this recipe. My husband said, "Now. THAT is great potato soup!" Both of us had two bowels and we love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Love4Food gives a great review of this soup. I would not make this recipe as presented. It is tasty but too thick and gooey. Follow the advice of Love4Food and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Tried this recipe last night, OMG! I used non-fat Parmalat instead of milk and it was delicious. I also added the leftover frozen Honey Baked Ham from New Years, and only used 4 slices of thick cut bacon. Some shallots and garlic (my own addition) gave it great flavor. A little dab of sour cream on top and its ready! This is a great base recipe and allows room for your own additions. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this tonight, and it was great. I used one cup of chicken broth and 6 cups of 2% milk, and I used real butter instead of margarine. It had plenty of flavor. I also cheated and used a couple of packs of the real bacon bits (1-1/2 pks in the soup and the rest of garnish)instead of frying my own bacon, and it was really good. Served with sliced, toasted french bread with roasted garlic. A really good, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Devine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States