Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I thought this would be too pasty with that much flour and butter, so I used my standard 2 Tbsp of each for the roux, and I used a mix of 2% milk and skim (cleaning out the fridge!), probably totaling closer to 5 cups of milk. For flavor, I added a clove of garlic, some chives and used Italian truffled salt. On a cold and blustery day like today, this was heaven in a bowl! Even with the lighter milk, you can still get a thick enough soup but just simmering it a bit longer. I also left my peels on the potatoes - that might not appeal to many people, but I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a really good recipe and I highly recommend it. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple of times, and love it. I do make a few modifications though. I use 3 cups of milk, and 3 cups of chicken stock. I also only peel half of the potatoes. I think it keeps the soup from tasting like mashed potatoes. I also cut up a leek, and saute it with the bacon. Lastly, I add a head of roasted garlic. I think it turns a relatively bland dish into a knock-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was very good - it definitely serves more than 6. Maybe more like 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I LOVE potato soup and this one is a winner! I made it as written, but with two small changes. FIrst, margarine? PUH-LEASE! Butter, baby. The second was unintentional but I think it made an improvement based on some of the negative reviews. Some are mentioning that it came out mushy. Well, I cut up the potatoes and threw them in there without cooking them first. I like my potato soup to be more like chowder - thick and chunky - and that seemed to do the trick. I am terrible at making gravies and roux, but take your time and put only a bit of flour in at a time. Then, be sure to add the first 2 cups of milk slowly, stirring it in well as you go. You can then add the rest of the milk and you'll get a nice base for the soup. Two suggestions. First, it was a little thicker than I would like it actually, so I might thin it with a little chicken broth next time. It was also a bit more peppery than I like it - and I like pepper. I might cut it down by half and let people add it to their taste. I will likely add a bit of yellow onion next time. Not a lot, just enough to give it a smidge of onion flavor before adding the green onions at serving time. Overall - excellent and EASY even for the roux challenged like myself. I will be making this one often for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This soup was awesome, I followed the suggestion of cutting the milk in half and used chicken stock for the other half. I also bought bacon from the deli(not the pre-packaged) and had them cut it in thick slices. The last thing I did was to add frozen western corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was a huge hit! I made no adjustments to the recipe, and my husband thought it was the best potato soup he'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Perfect! Don't worry if the squce is runny, as soon as you add it to soup it gets thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Okay....here's in response to the soup being a bit bland....I agreed...so I added cayenne pepper, and luckily I had saved the bacon grease....then added two cups chicken broth and some crushed pepper. Huge difference....so add the grease, cayenne, chicken broth and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
entire family loved it. Passed it along to friends and they all are making it and raving about it too!!! YUMMY on a cold winter day, served in a bread bowl with a side salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States