Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good! I did substitute 2 cups of broth for 2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I liked this but after reading lots of recipes & reviews decided I wanted to go 2/3 of the broth cream base & the other 1/3 a stock base, I went with vegetable stock since Im vegetarian. I sauteed 1 cup of diced white onion in the butter then added the flour for the rue. To the broth I added a small bay leaf which is a must for any soup just dont put too much, its another subtle layer of flavor so people dont take a bite & go ok, ya, milk & potatoes, bleh ^_^ I had russet & golden yukon laying around so I tossed the russets in then waited 15 min & through in the yukon golds so the russets boiled away to thicken & flavor the broth & the yukon stayed firm enough to give you little bites of potatoes in your spoon. Topped with the cheddar & green onions & sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Dellinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very good! All my boys big & small rate it at 5 stars. I did cut butter & flour in half and used 4 cups of milk and 2 cups chicken broth (we wanted it thick, not runny). Great easy, basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was great. I also cut out the butter, Used 3 cups of milk and 3 cups chicken broth. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This recipe is absolutely scrumptious. Very filling and it makes plenty to feed an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominique Reiman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Very easy to make. My 9 y/o said it is the best thing she has ever eaten. I don't know if I should be offended or not since I cook everyday lol but this recipe was great. I followed exactly except I used half and half instead of milk. Yummy!!! Thanks Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I added celery, onions, and used 4 medium (about 5 inch long) potatoes. The soup was pretty good, however it could be seen as bland. I meant to add chicken bouillon as suggested by another review, but I forgot. :( While there is nothing BAD about this soup, it's definitely a awesome basic soup to finish off with your own spices. For the "problem" of thickness, I used 7 cups milk, 2/3 flour, sour cream, and cheese and it was pretty thick (how I like it personally).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was fantastic! I did make a couple changes after reading some reviews saying it was bland. I replaced 2 cups of the milk with chicken bouillon (made from granules) and since it's going right to my hips anyway, I used butter instead of margarine. This was so easy and so delicious. My daughter requested the recipe be added to her 'off to college' cookbook. TIP for easy bacon: lay bacon slices in single layer on cold cookie sheet (with a rim), not touching, and place in COLD oven. Turn oven to 400 degrees and set timer for 17 minutes. Perfect bacon every time. Remove to paper towels to drain. Sometimes takes a minute or two more, depending on bacon thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenmont, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Not very healthy but god it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love a good baked potato soup recipe, but this isn't quite it. First, you don't need even half of all that bacon, margarine or milk. And let's face it, this particular potato soup recipe has the word "baked" in the title. So bake those potatoes, cool them and start making soup later in the day. When I bake the potatoes, I also bake some leeks, halved lengthwise, one whole leek for every large potato. Then everything cools while I make a very thin bechamel sauce out of milk and chicken broth in equal parts (2 cups liquid to every large baker), a little bacon grease and flour, and some cheddar cheese. You're looking for just a hint of cheese flavor, not a lot. Then I liquify the baked leeks and half the (peeled) potatoes with a hand blender, stir in the cubed baked potatoes (with some skin) and then start playing with the other flavors we all love about a baked potato. Chives, bacon bits, green onions, sour cream or Greek yogurt, depending on your preference. This version really comes together at the end, when you add the "stuff". Tasting for salt is a must at this point. But the base flavor should echo a baked potato, and you can't imitate that by boiling them. If you want a good, quick potato soup, then yes, boil away, this recipe will please you. But if you are looking for the flavor of a baked potato, you have to actually bake the potatoes. It's not a huge extra step, it just requires a bit of thinking ahead. You'll be glad you went to the bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States