Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I did like the base of this soup, however, it lacked flavor. Next time I am going to put a can of cream of potato and possibly add some veggies such as corn and leeks. But it came out at just the right thickness and was very creamy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pearl
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
We like this alot!!! I used fatfree milk, light margerine,light sour creme,and reduced fat cheddar cheese and it was still wonderful, i did put more pepper and added onions. I will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Used microwave bacon which was easier than frying bacon. Also added another cup of milk at the end because it was too thick. Really great way to use up leftover baked potatoes or bake extra ones so you can make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I have never had any luck on potato soup but this recipe was perfect. I will never buy soup from fast food again it is so much better . Family loved this I was amazed that I was able to pull it off so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made several modifications to this recipe based on other comments, and I was really happy with how it turned out. It tasted even better on the second day. I am vegetarian so instead of using bacon I added 1/3 cap-full of liquid smoke. I used one stick of butter and 1/2 cup flour. 2 cups of whole milk, 2 cups reconstituted powdered milk,3 cups veggie broth and 1/2 cup sour cream. I also added 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. I like that this can be made in under an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was super easy and very good. It's a great weekday meal by itself with leftover baked potatoes from the weekend. I left the skins on and mashed half of one of the potatoes to thicken it up. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
A-one soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I alter this a bit. I use the bacon drippings to make the roux instead of butter. It's not heart healthy but it's very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good! I did substitute 2 cups of broth for 2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I liked this but after reading lots of recipes & reviews decided I wanted to go 2/3 of the broth cream base & the other 1/3 a stock base, I went with vegetable stock since Im vegetarian. I sauteed 1 cup of diced white onion in the butter then added the flour for the rue. To the broth I added a small bay leaf which is a must for any soup just dont put too much, its another subtle layer of flavor so people dont take a bite & go ok, ya, milk & potatoes, bleh ^_^ I had russet & golden yukon laying around so I tossed the russets in then waited 15 min & through in the yukon golds so the russets boiled away to thicken & flavor the broth & the yukon stayed firm enough to give you little bites of potatoes in your spoon. Topped with the cheddar & green onions & sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Dellinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States