Baked Potato Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very yummy - didn't use olives. Make sure your potatoes are boiled nearly completely with no hard spots or you will take the hard potato in the dish. Happened to me, but for 90% of the rest of the dish, it was so delicious! I also used bacon flakes (still real bacon) throughout the dish. I would have loved sour cream too but I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Luv this recipe my family begs me to make it! I do make some adjustments to suit my family. I Add green onion as well as regular onion i use sour cream in place of the mayo also i use all cheddar an add more seasonings.an finally i put the raw bacon on top an let it crisp up while baking...yummyyyy!!thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Added black olives instead of green. 1/2 Best Foods mayo 1/2 Daisy Sour cream! So good and used a cheddar/mozzarella blend. Very good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeavic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe was so yummy w/a few changes. I cut the recipe in half and used, turkey bacon instead of reg. bacon, used 1/4 sour cream & 1/4 of mayo, and used coupld handfulls of shredded cheese instead of the yucky block cheese, and I didn't use the green olives. It turned out DELISH! Next time I'm going to use green onions instead of a reg onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rezgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wonderful salad that tasted just like a "baked potato" with all the fixin's! I used red skinned poatoes and left the skins on and since to type of onion was specified I used green onion as it's mild in flavor and pairs well with baked potatoes. I used Hellman's light mayo cutting it with a bit of sour cream and like others I chose to used shredded cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta. I mixed in some of the bacon and left some to use on top. I left out the green olives and chose to use chopped fresh chives on top instead along with the rest of the bacon - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
love love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Dowing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I've had to share this recipe with many people. Family requests this a lot at gatherings. Original recipe is time consuming. The prep time is more than 15 min. I've cut corners using Bacon Pieces (buy in a jar) and I use a pressure cooker to cook the peeled, diced potatoes in 5 minutes. Although better with them, I have left out the onion and olives if I didn't have them on hand, and it's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I love this recipe. I had first tried it when I found it in The Three Rivers Cookbook in Pittsburgh over 10 years ago. It is truly a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V Renée Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
PLEASE don't leave out the green olives!!! I felt leary about putting them in, but as my kids love them, I left them in. They really don't taste "olive-y"... they just kind of add a saltiness to the dish. Everyone I make this for raves... even the non-olive afficianados!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was a little hesitant on a hot potato salad but this was absolutely amazing a definate must try for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States