Baked Potato Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wonderful salad that tasted just like a "baked potato" with all the fixin's! I used red skinned poatoes and left the skins on and since to type of onion was specified I used green onion as it's mild in flavor and pairs well with baked potatoes. I used Hellman's light mayo cutting it with a bit of sour cream and like others I chose to used shredded cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta. I mixed in some of the bacon and left some to use on top. I left out the green olives and chose to use chopped fresh chives on top instead along with the rest of the bacon - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe! I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayo, shredded cheddar, and omitted the olives. I can hardly wait to serve it again! I think I might try it with the olives next time, just to see how it is. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Sooooooooo delicious! My family went nuts over this. Because my kids don't care for olives, I left them out and because I don't care for processed cheese, I used shredded Vermont cheddar instead. Great make ahead side dish for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I make this all the time for family gatherings and there is none left to take home. I get the cheese from the deli and have them slice it thick. I also omit the olives and double the bacon. I mix half of the bacon in the salad and cover the top with the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Artery cloggin' heart stoppin' good! I used cheddar instead of Velveeta like others suggested and I replaced the green olives w/ green onions. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I have made this exactly as the recipe stated and have also made a "mashed" version omitting the olives. I then serve it with eggs for breakfast. Great for camping. I made this for a potluck and literally had to give the recipe to 8 people! A great hit. Hint: Use Best Foods Mayo for the best taste or use grated cheddar cheese. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
The chunks of Velveeta in this recipe make for some nasty bites, so if I make this again I'll use shredded cheddar instead. I think it would be pretty tasty that way. I also omitted the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I loved this recipe. I used shredded cheddar and omitted the olives. This tasted just like the twice baked potatoes I make that takes 4hrs or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This recipe needs some work. First, the velveeta didn't melt very well. Next time I'll use cheddar. Second, the green olives don't mix (and I love green olives). Also, there was not enough dressing. Next time I'll use some sour cream as well. I'd like to try this again but I'll remake the recipe with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I used low fat velvetta, low fat hellmans and low fat bacon. This recipe was still very good and I got lots of good comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States