Baked Potato Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I got a couple compliments on this recipe, but I didn't think it was anything spectacular. I really don't like mayo, so I used the 1/2 mayo-1/2 sour cream as others suggested. This mostly just seemed greasy and was lacking flavor. With a few modifications it might be more my taste. I also used fresh chives instead of the green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was great! I left out the olives and used American cheese singles - that way, I had the flavor the recipe intended, but was able to make it into much smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Sooooo rich and yummy! I added about a cup of sour cream for creaminess and used casserole shredded cheese (found it at the groc...the only cheese w/ american I could find!). Loved it with steaks on the grill and sauteed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
With a few modifications this recipe was INCREDIBLE! I chose to cube the potatoes and cook them almost completely before baking to reduce baking time. I used 3/4 sour cream and 1/4 mayo, and I added just a bit of steak spice to the dressing mix. Also, I added green onion instead of olives for color. Real cheese is a much nicer touch as well. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarron Fabbricino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Absolutely a keeper!! Have made twice now. Only difference I made was to use a 5lb bag of baby red potatoes which I baked then left the skins on...as much for color as for extra texture. Also used shredded cheddar instead of american. And omitted the olives. The boys loved it!! Hard to please 14, 9 and 5 yr boys. But they all came back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This got great reviews from the family at Easter dinner. I wanted something different than mashed potatoes and I definitely found it! I used cubes of mozzarella cheese (hubby doesn't like cheddar or american), ranch dressing instead of mayo, and 9 good-sized potatoes. This was more than enough to feed 12 people. I will definitely make this again, even for everyday meals. It would probably even be good served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I used 1/2 shredded cheddar and 1/2 shredded velvetta and some garlic powder. Also, I used 3/4 sour cream and 1/4 mayo as others have suggested. Goes great with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Loved this recipe! My husband thought it was a bit "rich", but I felt it was an excellent dish for company! Four stars because I felt that adding the bacon and THEN baking caused the bacon to get overdone. Best to top with the bacon 15 minutes before done baking. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My mom has made this for me since I was a kid. I don't put olives in the recipe and I use Miracle Whip instead of mayonaise. My friend makes this recipe also and she leaves the skin on the cubed potatos. It is good that way as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I made this for a church pot luck and by the time I got up to the spot on the table where these were, they were gone! I'm giving this a 4 based on that, and seeing as I didn't get to try it I have no idea how these tasted! It is a bit time consuming to make, but aparently the effort was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States