Baked Potato Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I made this recipe and my family loved it. They kept asking me where I got it. The only thing I changed was adding black olives instead of green since my fiance isn't a fan of the green ones. Other than that it was perfect. Very very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
5 Stars with my additions-I used red potatoes which I cubed before boiling in salted water for about 10 min. I subbed non-fat yogurt for the mayo, and also added about a cup of low fat sour cream. I mixed one packet of ranch dressing mix into the yogurt/sour cream with about half the green onion and a cup of shredded sharp cheddar, tossed this mixture with the warm potatoes. After turning the coated potatoes into the baking dish I sprinkled another cup of shredded cheddar over the top, the rest of the onions and homemade bacon bits. Skipped the olives-personal preference. Terrific dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe! I did make a few alterations, based on the reviews. First, I used sour cream instead of mayo. Also, I, too added the bacon into the potato mixture and let the bacon flavor meld into the overall taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I did make a few tweaks to this recipe. I made a mistake early on and actually mixed the bacon into the whole potato, mayo and cheddar mixture, rather than following the recipe's putting the back on the top of the dish. I did end up putting extra bacon in overall, and did not feel it was overwhelming. I would recommend adding extra bacon to the recipe - more like 2/3 lb instead of 1/2 lb. I would also recommend nmixing 3/4 of the crumbled bacon into the potato mix, then putting the remaining 1/4 on the top before it bakes. I also tried making an alternate one with ranch dressing added to it, and it only made the dish taste a bit sweeter. Would definitely not add the ranch dressing again. Overall, a great dish, all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This has been a huge family favorite for 25+ years. My own cooking tips: use 4# red potatoes and leave some of the skin on; use a regular round casserole dish to prevent drying out; Velveeta cheese is best for smooth blending and the correct amount of moisture; bacon should not be sugar cured, hickory smoked is good; mix the olives in with the other ingredients; use slightly less bacon (6 slices), chop, and bake from raw on top until brown and crispy, using broiler if necessary; give a stir immediately after removing from oven to blend ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
These potatoes were so delish!! I am craving them again right now. I served them hot as a side to sloppy joes. I used half mayo and half sour cream. And cut out the olives. They were superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
You have to try this recipe - it is one of the best ever potato recipese on this site. You will be asked for the recipe, my family loves it, my bunco group asks for it when it's my turn to host! I do a 50/50 mayo/sour cream and use green onion. Delicious enough to impress the family for a potluck or to dress up a hot dog or hamburger dinner as a yummy side dish. Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very good!! I used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream. I also used shredded chedder in place of velveeta. I may try half of each next time. My husband could not get enough so we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee fitzmaurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was a hit with the bf, although halfway through eating it he asked me how much bacon I put in it. That was completely my fault because I didn't even look at the amount of bacon or where it was supposed to go and just dumped a bunch in. I don't like peeling my potatoes (part laziness, part wanting to keep them nutritious), and it worked fine. I used 7 smaller red potatoes and halved the rest of the ingredients (well, except the bacon) and it worked fine. I was okay with the mayo (surprisingly since I don't like mayo much) and I used cheddar instead of velveeta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Awesome is the best way to describe this recipe. Took it to a BBQ yesterday and it was gone in no time. Everyone asked for the recipe. I also added 1/2cup mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup ranch dressing. It was xtra creamy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States