Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I used red potatoes with the skin left on, shredded cheddar, and sour cream in place of the mayo. I omitted the olives and used green onion and I thought it was pretty good. I think next time I may add a small amount of mayo to give it a little zip. I mixed everything together, including the bacon, while the potatoes were hot so the cheese melted. Over all it tasted a lot like a twice baked potato. By the way, I didn't even bake it as I didn't have time and it tasted fine. I had leftovers so I'll probably throw it in the oven tomorrow and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Loved it! Next time I may add more Sour Cream for my taste but overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blair, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Just plain delicious! A great side dish for a BBQ or any meal that you want a scrumptious potato side. I use half mayo/light sour cream, cheddar and green onions. I recently made it for a camping potluck...we got to the table a bit late and everyone had served and seated. But once one person got up to get some of the dish....they all jumped up to get a serving and raved about it - the dish was scraped clean! This has become a special request side dish with our bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Next time I'll just make a loaded baked potato. This was way too bland tasting and the mayo thing just didn't work for me. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
loved it!!! only change i made was to use 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream instead. oh yeah! i also changed the cheese to cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zikantas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I thought this was good, but kind of bland. The five stars is because my boyfriend LOVED it. Out of personal preferences, I chose to omit the onions and add a clove of garlic, chopped. I also used sour cream instead and just a dollop of mayo for some zing. I did mix the bacon in with everything instead of just topping with it. The dish did go well with our hamburgers, but I think it needs something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this last night with the Baked Pork Chops I from this sight. It was Very good! I used the recipe as directed but next time I will double the bacon, and put 1/2 of the bacon into the mixture. The bacon gives it a nick kick. Anyway it is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pizzafreak
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. Except for the olives, they just seemed out of place. This turned out VERY good. However, I think it can be improved, next time I will add some more potatoes and maybe not cook it as long. It was still very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
A great recipe, however I did make a few modifications based on other reviews, and substituted green onions, cheddar cheese, and used 1/2c sour cream and 1/2c mayo. I over-boiled my potatoes though(or maybe I sliced them too thin) and they all fell apart, so rather than stir all the ingredients together, I combined all the wet ingredients, then layered half the broken potatoes in the pan and covered with half the cheese mixture, then did a second layer of potatoes and cheese mixture. The only thing I would change next time is double the sour cream and mayo (maybe because I used grated cheddar cheese, my mixture came out drier. I added an extra dollop of each but it was still not quite enough). The next morning I took some of the leftovers and fried them in oil and had some nice crispy, cheesy hash browns! This is a wonderful and simple recipe. I will definitely make this again. Much less difficult than potatoes au gratin and just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States