Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Recipe was very good. I made it for a crowd to accompany steaks. I was planning to grill dinner so it was alot easier than preparing baked potatoes for everyone. I followed the advice of others and used the sourcream/mayo combo and I used cheddar cheese and I used fresh scallions. I prepared the recipe early in the day and cooked the potatoes till they were 90% done. Then I placed everything in a disposable foil tray, so when it was time to grill, I just placed the pan on the grill for about 35 minutes. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I was not enthralled with this recipe. My guests did really like it but I thought it was OK. It really needed something to amke it special. Possibly a more robust cheese would help. I have had a dish very similar to this that was fantastic and thought this was the same recipe but obviously not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Made this in my crock pot and it turned out great! Used red potatoes, quartered and covered in water for about 6 hours on low, drained and stirred in other ingredients when I got home and let it go on high while I finished the rest of dinner! How easy and delicious!!! Had people over for dinner that night, and they raved over it. Used the 1/2 mayo 1/2 sour cream suggestion and green onions. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Oh my goodness, this stuff is amazing! I have made it SEVERAL times, enough that I'm somewhat known for it now, and pretty much stick to the recipe every time. The changes I do make: 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream, the bacon goes in with all ingredients rather than just on top, and I add some Velveeta with the other ingredients and sprinkle Cheddar (or whatever is on hand) on the top. The Velveeta gives it a more cheesy flavor. Also, the onions get cooked with the bacon. This is a very unhealthy and delicious recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
We decided not to use mayo. I can't imagine it even tasting that well. Mayo is more of a cold food thing. Also we left the Olives out. However we did ad some potatoes from the scalloped potatoes we'd had a few nights back. Taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
oh yes! i followed the suggestions from others about just using sour cream instead of the mayo. it was missing something, so i added a couple tablespoons of miracle whip. PERFECT! my husband loved it, i loved it, even my picky 13 year old daughter was impressed! just delish. oh, i didn't bother boiling the potatoes first. i peeled them and microwaved them 5 minutes, flip and 5 more minutes. then cut them up and mixed them in with pre-made real bacon pieces from a bag. made prep time super short. also, cut up 3 or 4 chives from my herb garden. great addition! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missi.spirito

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I love this recipe. I make every year for a family reunion. It is always one of the first things to go. I cook the onions in some bacon juice to make them a bit softer. I also use cheddar cheese instead of american. I use a half cup of mayo and a half cup of sour cream for better taste and I omit the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This recipe is just okay. I was expecting more of a potato salad, but I would definitely put this in the casserole category. I used sour cream instead of mayo and omitted the olives. It was very thick and clumpy. For the record, it is NOT good eaten cold--it just tastes like cold mashed potatoes when it cools. Most of my guests enjoyed it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mykidsmom
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made this dish the other night as i had bag of red potatoes that had to be used up, i changed the recipe somewhat following other reviews. I used half cup mayo, and 1/2 cup sour cream. also i hate american cheese so i used mozzarella in its place. it really was not all that flavorful, probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I really liked it! I did use sour cream and bacon bits because its eaiser and I will be doing it again, my husband thought it was ok . . . And for those who think its too greasy, let the pan cool for about 15 min . . and wola, prolbem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States