Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
oh yes! i followed the suggestions from others about just using sour cream instead of the mayo. it was missing something, so i added a couple tablespoons of miracle whip. PERFECT! my husband loved it, i loved it, even my picky 13 year old daughter was impressed! just delish. oh, i didn't bother boiling the potatoes first. i peeled them and microwaved them 5 minutes, flip and 5 more minutes. then cut them up and mixed them in with pre-made real bacon pieces from a bag. made prep time super short. also, cut up 3 or 4 chives from my herb garden. great addition! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missi.spirito

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I love this recipe. I make every year for a family reunion. It is always one of the first things to go. I cook the onions in some bacon juice to make them a bit softer. I also use cheddar cheese instead of american. I use a half cup of mayo and a half cup of sour cream for better taste and I omit the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This recipe is just okay. I was expecting more of a potato salad, but I would definitely put this in the casserole category. I used sour cream instead of mayo and omitted the olives. It was very thick and clumpy. For the record, it is NOT good eaten cold--it just tastes like cold mashed potatoes when it cools. Most of my guests enjoyed it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mykidsmom
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made this dish the other night as i had bag of red potatoes that had to be used up, i changed the recipe somewhat following other reviews. I used half cup mayo, and 1/2 cup sour cream. also i hate american cheese so i used mozzarella in its place. it really was not all that flavorful, probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I really liked it! I did use sour cream and bacon bits because its eaiser and I will be doing it again, my husband thought it was ok . . . And for those who think its too greasy, let the pan cool for about 15 min . . and wola, prolbem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I used red potatoes with the skin left on, shredded cheddar, and sour cream in place of the mayo. I omitted the olives and used green onion and I thought it was pretty good. I think next time I may add a small amount of mayo to give it a little zip. I mixed everything together, including the bacon, while the potatoes were hot so the cheese melted. Over all it tasted a lot like a twice baked potato. By the way, I didn't even bake it as I didn't have time and it tasted fine. I had leftovers so I'll probably throw it in the oven tomorrow and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Loved it! Next time I may add more Sour Cream for my taste but overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blair, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Just plain delicious! A great side dish for a BBQ or any meal that you want a scrumptious potato side. I use half mayo/light sour cream, cheddar and green onions. I recently made it for a camping potluck...we got to the table a bit late and everyone had served and seated. But once one person got up to get some of the dish....they all jumped up to get a serving and raved about it - the dish was scraped clean! This has become a special request side dish with our bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Next time I'll just make a loaded baked potato. This was way too bland tasting and the mayo thing just didn't work for me. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
loved it!!! only change i made was to use 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream instead. oh yeah! i also changed the cheese to cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zikantas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States