Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Very good! Of course I tweaked it just a little. Instead of the processed American cheese I used a two cup bag of shredded sharp ceddar cheese; shallots instead of onion; 1/2c mayo & 1/2c sour cream; 2 cloves garlic. I threw the shallot & garlic in with the bacon during the last stages of cooking and then topped the potatoes. I left the olives out but that my personal taste. This really turned out to be a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I'm not sure why this is in the salad category. This is a good recipe. I would just use sour cream and forget the mayo- much more flavor. Also, skip the olives. One other thing, my potatoes came out undercooked- make sure you are just about there BEFORE you place in casserole as this oven temp does not bake the pieces the rest of the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I was inspired by the name of this dish to make a "Baked Potato" salad, rather than a casserole type "baked" potato salad. I used 1/3 mayonnaise with 2/3 sour cream, bacon cut into one inch pieces and crisped, diced red onion, green onion, salt, and grated marble cheese to make a cold potato salad. Tasted just like a loaded baked potato. What a hit it was at my BBQ - especially with the boys! I am sure to make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I never was able to make a really good potato salad until this one.My brotherinlaw and I are the cooks in the family so when I bring something over I always want something that is going to be an wow recipe to him and This sure lived up to it. Every time I make it people talk about it. Very important tho. It deff needs to sit all night it taste so much better the next day. It is so easy and so good. every one loved it. Added more sour cream and part of the mayo.The first time we ate it we ate it hot out of the oven. Now I bake it and then refrigerate all day until evening.Or until it is very cold . I take it out and break it all up in a bowl and add more sour cream. Top with extra shedded chedder and mexican mix cheese and some more bacon. serve it cold. Every one loved it and wanted more when it was gone. Makes a really great cold salad. Also Im not sure how it said to do the onions but I chopped them up. quite a few and then carmelize them. The flavor goes thru the salad but no sharp onion pieces in the salad. Kids here that dont like onions love the carmalized flavor of them in the salad tho. Best salad going. Like I said Better the next day. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Rusaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
I am not really sure what I was expecting, but all I could taste was warm mayo. Not being a fan of warm mayo, I added some sour cream, that didn't help and I ended up throwing most of this away. I wish I had read other reviewers suggestions of just adding sour cream and not mayo before I started. Also, make sure you leave your potatoes in large slices, most of mine fell apart and I boiled them less than the suggested 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I made this recipe for 4th of July. Everyone loved it! I followed others advice and I added 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream. I added a mixture of cheddar and cheddar jack cheese and I omitted the olives. This kind of reminds you of a twice baked - loaded potato. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
It's rare I find a hit with everyone in my family but this recipe made the cut. I made a few alterations however. I did not put the american cheese in with the potatoes and mayo, instead I put in about a cup of cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon , I baked it for about 35 minutes and then put a layer of american cheese on top. I put that in the oven until the cheese melted and then I put on a layer of sour cream, topped with crumbled bacon and sliced green onion tops. I omitted the black olives for my family. The true taste of a baked potatoe in a dish that everyone can easily enjoy. Everyone had seconds!!! Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roxboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This is definitely a recipe I will make again and again. It is so delicious. You can trust this recipe if you are making it for the first time and are looking to impress your guests! I think it's a great "potato" alternative for a barbeque, although it would be delicious as a side for dinner. (Or throw in some kielbasa sausage and make it the main dish!) Umm! Note: do not use imitation cheese. Only real processed cheese. If you use the fake stuff you will get an oily nasty mess. Spend the extra 50 cents and get Kraft or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I was looking for a potato salad that would blow everyone's socks off. This one didn't fail me. EVERYONE wanted the recipe. I made enough for 30 and had almost none left . This never happend with regular potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDGETTNORRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I'm confused, this is a potato casserole, not salad. Still, regardless of how this recipe is classified, it was a good sidedish. I used half mayo, half sour cream. I stirred halfway through cooking and turned out very tatsy. Cheesy...but not too much. Thanks Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States