Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I actually thought this was much better hot than cold and next time will make it as a warm side dish. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Pretty good. A little too greasy for my sensitive tummy, but we both liked it. I used dried minced onion and tossed in some parsley and Old Bay seasoning. I halved the recipe and used some potatoes that I had baked in the oven with the skins on. I didn't bake the full amount of time since my potatoes were already very done and I just wanted to warm the dish and melt the cheese. 45 minutes was perfect for that. I did use mayo, but I just eyeballed it and I didn't notice the mayo taste (I'm not a big fan). Great use for already baked potatoes--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Loved this recipe for the basic idea and for getting me started... read some of the other reviews and made the following changes: I cubed my potatoes (this how I personally like potato salad). After draining and putting potatoes in a bowl I added 1 cup of Miracle Whip (what we use instead of mayo) and then sprinkled 1/2 package of "Hidden Valley Ranch Original" seasoning all over. Added salt and pepper. Add some dry minced onion (what I always have on hand) and a couple of handfuls of shredded colby/monterey jack combo cheese. Mixed all together and put in casserole dish. Topped with the rest of the shredded cheese and crumbled bacon. This was DELISH and I will definitely make it again! So easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paragould, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I give this 3.5 stars. It was good, but not spectacular. I've had better. Didn't receive many compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I was shocked at how good this was. The picture doesn't do it justice. I just substituted a few things because I didn't have the other ingredients on hand. I used 1lb hot italian sausage instead of bacon, 2c shredded cheddar cheese, and 1c sour cream that I had just made into ranch dip earlier (using a Hidden Valley Ranch packet) instead of mayo. My 2 and 3 year olds ate all their food and my husband had thirds! This is definately something I'll keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Huge hit at a BBQ last weekend! I used nine small red potatoes boiled until I could stick a fork in them. Left skins on, sliced after boiling. I used turkey bacon (12 oz package), shredded sharp cheddar cheese (~3 c), and 1 c of sour cream. I mixed it in a large bowl and left it that way! It was delicious as a cold salad. Will DEF make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I been using this recipe for 2 summers now and it’s a huge hit. Yes its not quite a salad but its perfect for BBQ's and yummy. What I do is cook the bacon and then sauté the onions in the bacon fat (drain the fat after they are soft.) I use half sour cream and half mayo. I use shredded cheddar cheese. I always use a little more than whats called for when cheese is added in recipes, I just love cheese. I use half the bacon to mix in with all the ingredients and then I sprinkle the other half of the bacon and more cheese on top. It just looks nice and its soooo yummy! leave the olives out its just a personal choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNNI112

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe b/c either people loved or hated it in the reviews. I'm so glad I tried it b/c it was amazing! I fixed this for Easter and EVERYBODY loved it. I did do as other suggested and used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream. I will be making this from now on. Many, many stars.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
love love love it! I did the recipe for 12 servings and used a whole package (24 slices)of american cheese and added extra bacon. I also used some ranch dip I had on hand and then added enough mayo to make a cup. Since everything in it is cooked, you don't have to stick it in the oven for an hour, but it's sooooo much better if you do! I didn't add the black olives on top, and next time I might sprinkle some dried onion rings or cut up some red bell pepper to dress up the top, just my personal taste. *Update* made this again, this time using what I had on hand, some purple onion, mayo and ranch dressing, and chedder instead of american, and bacon bits. i double the recipe and we ate half of it unbaked like reg potato salad the first night, and then I put the rest in a baking dish, sprinkled some fried onions on top (just the last 10 minutes) and baked for an hour for the next nights supper. I LOVE the idea of this! I'm now going to try baking other potato salad recipes i have, and I'm thinking of trying this "2fer" on macaroni salad too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States