Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is the 2nd time I've made this recipe and everyone loves it. I used 1 cup of sour cream and about 1/4 cup of mayo. I used shredded cheddar cheese and added extra on top. I omitted the olives. It tastes even better the next day when it's reheated. Also, I wasn't sure the 1st time I made it if you're supposed to leave the skin on the the potatoes. I did just to save time and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I've been making a recipe similailar to this for years. It is delicious! I cook my potatoes with skins on until fork tender and then peel them and cube them, and sometimes I use little red potatoes and quarter them and leave skins on. I omit the olives and use scallions to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karb Kutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I actually thought this was much better hot than cold and next time will make it as a warm side dish. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Pretty good. A little too greasy for my sensitive tummy, but we both liked it. I used dried minced onion and tossed in some parsley and Old Bay seasoning. I halved the recipe and used some potatoes that I had baked in the oven with the skins on. I didn't bake the full amount of time since my potatoes were already very done and I just wanted to warm the dish and melt the cheese. 45 minutes was perfect for that. I did use mayo, but I just eyeballed it and I didn't notice the mayo taste (I'm not a big fan). Great use for already baked potatoes--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Loved this recipe for the basic idea and for getting me started... read some of the other reviews and made the following changes: I cubed my potatoes (this how I personally like potato salad). After draining and putting potatoes in a bowl I added 1 cup of Miracle Whip (what we use instead of mayo) and then sprinkled 1/2 package of "Hidden Valley Ranch Original" seasoning all over. Added salt and pepper. Add some dry minced onion (what I always have on hand) and a couple of handfuls of shredded colby/monterey jack combo cheese. Mixed all together and put in casserole dish. Topped with the rest of the shredded cheese and crumbled bacon. This was DELISH and I will definitely make it again! So easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paragould, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I give this 3.5 stars. It was good, but not spectacular. I've had better. Didn't receive many compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I was shocked at how good this was. The picture doesn't do it justice. I just substituted a few things because I didn't have the other ingredients on hand. I used 1lb hot italian sausage instead of bacon, 2c shredded cheddar cheese, and 1c sour cream that I had just made into ranch dip earlier (using a Hidden Valley Ranch packet) instead of mayo. My 2 and 3 year olds ate all their food and my husband had thirds! This is definately something I'll keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Huge hit at a BBQ last weekend! I used nine small red potatoes boiled until I could stick a fork in them. Left skins on, sliced after boiling. I used turkey bacon (12 oz package), shredded sharp cheddar cheese (~3 c), and 1 c of sour cream. I mixed it in a large bowl and left it that way! It was delicious as a cold salad. Will DEF make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I been using this recipe for 2 summers now and it’s a huge hit. Yes its not quite a salad but its perfect for BBQ's and yummy. What I do is cook the bacon and then sauté the onions in the bacon fat (drain the fat after they are soft.) I use half sour cream and half mayo. I use shredded cheddar cheese. I always use a little more than whats called for when cheese is added in recipes, I just love cheese. I use half the bacon to mix in with all the ingredients and then I sprinkle the other half of the bacon and more cheese on top. It just looks nice and its soooo yummy! leave the olives out its just a personal choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNNI112

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States