Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I used 1/2 mayo & 1/2 sour cream and had to double the amount in the recipe for that amount of potatoes. I felt it was too dry. My boys won't eat potato salad and this was a good alternative. Served it hot tonight so I don't know how it tastes cold but I can't imagine it NOT tasting good cold because it sure was delicious hot! Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Wow! This was so good! I skiped the olives, used sharp cheddar instead of processed cheese, and added some garlic powder. I used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream like others had suggested. I also mixed 3/4 of the bacon in with the potatos and sprinkled the remaining on top with some of the cheese. I served it warm, but will try the leftovers cold for lunch today :) Update: It was fine cold but so much better served warm. It's more like a potato cheese casserole then salad but still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was a great potato-cheese casserole. I changed the servings to 3, only using two potatoes. After cooking the bacon, I added the chopped onions to the bacon fat and sauteed them; afterwards draining well on a paper towel. I used half mayonnaise and half sour cream, only needing about 1 Tablespoon of each for this smaller portion. I did not use olives, but cut some fresh chives and added them to the top of the dish before cooking. It only took about 20 minutes at 350 degrees to become light brown and bubbly; the taste was wonderful and it was plenty for two or three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Excellent but not really a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This was good. I modified and used cheddar cheese instead of american cheese. Omitted the black olives and added chives to the top. Served cold, it was a nice changed from our normal potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I had a party the other night at my house and served this, I got rave reviews!! I served it cold, used shredded Cheddar cheese insted of american, used half sour cream, fourth mayo and a fourth or more of ranch dressing. It was soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This recipe was perfect for my picnic! I did change some things though...I was making it for a big picnic so I increased the serving size and I only used 1 c. of Mayonaise and added 1 1/2 c. sour cream, eliminated the olives and used shredded montary and cheddar cheeses instead of american because that was what I had. I also cooked the bacon but left it out and on the side for the vegetarians at the party. It came out great and I had so many compliments on this dish. It truly tasted like a baked potato and was even great heated up the next day! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This turned out very good. I cheated by precooking the potatos in the microwave. I used half mayo and half sour cream. My husband loved it. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckaMax

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
i left out the bacon...and it was still the most delicious potato salad (baked) i've had. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was wonderful... I doubled the recipe for the 4th, served seven and had some leftovers. I used sour cream and some mayo. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States