Baked Potato Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I also used 1/2 ranch & 1/2 sour cream - which I think is a must on this (it needed that extra flavor). I made homemade crust (actually used Jay's Signature pizza crust from this site as suggested by another reviewer). My potatoes were from the garden & huge so I only used 2 - I chopped them & boiled them instead of baking because they were so big I was worried they wouldn't bake well. I used some extra garlic/italian butter & brushed the crust with it because it was a thick crust. I made the bacon & crumbled it on the last 5 min of baking or so because I didn't want it to get soggy from the cheese - I don't even think it's necessary to bake it with the bacon on & 6 pieces was enough but could always use more. Very filling & obviously not the healthiest dish - but really tasty. Looking forward to trying the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this as directed and something major seemed to be missing... I can't put my finger on it, maybe an herb or something. It is a good basis to start with, so I'm sure if you played around with it it could be great, but as is, is not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Totally Loved It. The Potatoes had An Awesome Flavor, And Everything Just Turned Out Right. Will Totally Make Again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I like the idea of this recipe and as written we felt it lacked flavor and depth and was only a 3 star recipe. The second time I made made changes and it turned out much better. First, I brushed the crust with garlic olive oil and prebaked it for 5 minutes. Then I did use the half ranch, half sour cream mix others recommended but used less - only 3/4 cup total. I used less mozzarella, more onion and more bacon. The most significant change though, was the preparation of the potato. I thinly sliced 1 potato only and cut the slices in half. I then sauted the raw slices in a little bit of butter with salt and pepper until they were tender, yet had a slight crunch on the outside. I laid them on the crust and then added the onion, bacon and cheddar. This was so much more flavorful and balanced and is a pizza we'll repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I am always looking for creative ways to use potatoes, and this pizza was awesome...it really did taste like a loaded baked potato pizza! I served it with ranch dressing as a side to dip in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is good. I didnt have an ranch (as other reviewers suggested to add) so I added a little French onion soup mix to the sour cream. Next time I will play around with the flavors of the sour cream. I also will cut the potato a little smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very easy; I used a premade crust and then just added the ingredients on top. If you are looking for something a little different this is it. Could be used for any meal! Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was good! I made my own crust and mixed some ranch dressing in with the sour cream as other reviewers suggested. Thanks for the great recipe. I'm sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very good and even better when you add ranch as a dipping sauce with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this last year for a neighbor's annual new year's eve pizza party. It was such a hit, I've been asked to make it again. I figured I better rate it this year. So I will: AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States