Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
thank you rayna for this recipe. these were super super good. my 10yo had fun rolling them up, it took no time to make and it was nice not having to fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
These are a great appetizer. Instead of using spring rolls (which my local market didn't have) I tried using pasta wrappers (like used for egg rolls). They turned out great! Also, I added quite a bit of thai garlic chili sauce which made it a little easier to work with, and nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
These were fantastic! Even my picky 2-year-old ate them! And my mom asked what I put in the meat mixture, which is very complimentary coming from her. The rolls were crispy and I didn't even mind that they were not deep-fried. Delicious and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This is nothing short of excellent. If I may, for all you vegetarians, I also tried omitting the pork and instead used an assortment of chopped mushrooms (wild and cultivated) along with shredded, chopped mung bean noodles (the stuff that looks like white wire). Before baking I sprayed it with cooking spray rather than brushing for even fewer calories. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I used egg roll wrappers. I baked some of them and fried some. The baked were pretty good but I still prefer the heart-attack-on-a-plate fried method. I'd definitely bake them if I were to make them very often. The filling was very good. I used a bit of dried ginger instead of the fresh because I thought so much fresh ginger might overpower the other ingredients. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Wow! No one would believe they werent fried! And what a nice way to save some calories! Thanks, Ranyna, for a great addition to my recipe box. This is definitely a keeper. I also liked the suggestion of using the ready made coleslaw - that is certainly a time saver. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Yum. Very good recipe. I added more veggies to this as well as water chestnuts to make these more of a main dish egg roll than an appetizer. I served this with the also yummy oriental dipping sauce from this site. I'll make this again soon. Would be good using shredded chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
These turned out delicious. I especially liked this recipe because it was quick and easy, and you don't have the huge hassle and cleanup of deep frying. Instead of pork, I used 1/2 a package of rice vermicelli (125g)like our local Thai and Vietnamese restaurants do. I also added some soy sauce and salt as I found the mix not seasoned enough. They turned out great. I doubled the recipe trying to get 24, but I only got 16, perhaps I put too much filling in, but something to consider. I dipped them in a sweet and sour sauce....YUM! Make sure to turn them 1/2 way through for even browning. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I thought this was a great recipe...especially for my first time making spring rolls. I added some diced water chestnuts for an extra crunch. For a dipping sauce I mixed some orange marmalade I had on hand with some dijon mustard...it made a nice sweet and tangy sauce to go with it. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
These were great! I made them for the first time for a cooking lesson with a novice cook. The recipe was very easy to follow and they taste wonderful - not heavy and greasy like restaurant ones. Maybe a teriyaki dipping sauce would taste good with them. Thanks, Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States