Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Honestly, I wasn't crazy about these--I didn't really like the sauce/spice mix used to flavor the filling. I made these for a party the night before, and fresh out of the oven, they are tasty and crispy. The next day, however, they were weirdly soggy and not crispy at all. They still got totally snapped up at the party, though, so clearly some people liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I just made these and am tickled pink to know I have some in the freezer for whenever I want! I used spring roll wrappers (otherwise known as rice paper). If you cant find spring roll wrappers, look in the freezer section of your grocery store for lumpia wrappers. I think these have the same texture when fried so might do ok baked. I did adjust my seasoning a litte (the filling is cooked so give it a taste before you make one to make sure you like it). I doubled the recipe and ended up with 17 medium sized rolls. My only tip for rolling is, fold the sides in first and then the bottom and keep rolling till you get to the top! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Taste awesome however rolls a bit hard to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amboy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I was disappointed in these. The flavor was not bad, but the baking time was too long. They ended up over brown/crisp and the filling was dried out and skimpy. If I had to do over again, I would double the veggies and bake them for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I adapted this recipe to be vegetarian by leaving out the pork and added a bit more other ingredients. I also added some mushrooms and super thin rice noodles (cellophane noodles) to the recipe. I found the filling had a nice flavor. However I didn't really enjoy these baked at all. Also the person gave no instructions on wrapping so I fumbled around until I realized I needed to start by putting the spring roll wrappers in a diamond shape. The paste I was told to make caused a white powdery-ness on the wrappers where I sealed them, I didn't enjoy that. Additionally despite adding the oil.... these were really dry and too hard and chewy. They lacked the pert crispness of fried spring rolls. I have another batch to make and I may brush them more generously with the oil to see if I can make it work for me. One last thing... the recipe never mentions that its absolutely required to keep spring roll wrappers damp. Once they dry out the texture changes and cooking them one change that at all. I kept mine covered with a damp towel while I was rolling the next one up. Also, even though I love cilantro... I didn't think it belonged in the recipe. I did add it anyway but next time I'd omit it for sure if I tried this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
My husband really liked these! They are fairly easy to make, although a bit time consuming. I thought they were ok, though a bit bland. I will make them again however. Would rate them 3.5 if I could ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These were great. I've always fried my spring rolls in the past, but these taste just as good and are so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were good - definitely didn't miss the frying. They did get dark very quickly though so keep an eye on them. I'll use this method going forward with different fillings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These were not simple to make, but that could be because I was having my 4 year old help me. I did use the shortcut of using the coleslaw mix and it was wonderfully easy. My littlest kids seemed to really like these but us older ones didn't care too much for them. Probably won't do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! I made a dipping sauce of 6TB Apricot Preserves + 2TB Dijon + 2TB Soy Sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States