Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
WOW! This was so totally awesome! I made these for a few friends that came over this evening and they just loved them! I doubled the recipe and got 26 spring rolls. 5 adults scarfed down every single one! I couldn't stop eating the filling before rolling the spring rolls! My guests were shocked at how tasty and crunchy these were right out of the oven. I used an oil mister to spritz some peanut oil on them right before baking. I baked mine for 15 min, turned and baked another 10. They came out a beautiful golden color and just as crunchy as could be. Here's a hint on the wrappers. True spring roll wrappers are super thin and tear easily if they become dry. I keep a spray bottle with water and before peeling off a wrapper I mist it lightly with the water and then roll. I also misted the stack of wrappers after peeling the top one off, just to make it more pliable by the time I came back to the stack. As I finished rolling each one, I would mist the finished rolls and cover them with a towel until I was ready to bake them. And for the record, it took me an hour to prep this-and that's using a food processor for the veggies. It was worth every minute! I will be making these over and over again, AND I won't feel guilty because they aren't deep fried! Thanks Rayna for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
A big hit with the whole family! My 20 month old devoured 2 of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was so-so. The porportion wrapper to filling was not enough; result was a bland taste. Also the wrapper was very chewy almost tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Man, I wanted this to be good, but those wrappers were nothing like the picture in this recipe. Mine turned transparent when wet, and while I was able to roll them up, OK, they remained gummy and soggy even after baking more than 20 minutes at 425*. One tiny corner of one roll got crispy, and the rest was a soggy mess. Taste was fine, but no one was going to be able to eat these as finger food. Forks and knives were the only way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Used ground chicken instead other than that made as is - these were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
YUM. I doubled the carrot and the wet ingredients, substituting fish sauce for the oyster sauce. Everyone loved them!! I served with Sweet and Sour Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used egg roll wrappers but they baked up delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisAnomaly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Loved these. Made no adaptations except had to use wonton wraps because the market was out of spring roll and egg roll wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are excellent! I like to serve it with duck sauce or a chile sauce and as a side with egg drop soup. I don't consider myself a slow mover but I think 25 minutes is an underestimate of the prep time. After cooking the pork, chopping the veggies, mixing ingredients, stuffing rolls, etc. it took at least 35-40 min, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I did fry the rolls though. My teens love these and ask for them often. Easy to prepare and they are a make ahead item that can go in the refrigerator until you are ready to cook. I also put the pork in a small food processor and gave it a whirl so that the pork would distribute better in the roll. Please note: I will always use cilantro at a minimum because I find that it does tend to overpower a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States