Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great flavor and crunch. So much healthier to have a baked roll instead of fried. The spring roll wrappers from our nearby Asian market were a little hard to work with for beginners. The rolls stuck to our teeth; I'd use egg roll wrappers next time. We eliminated the oyster sauce (due to shellfish allergy) and cilantro and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The supposed use of spring roll wrappers (rice paper) is very deceiving. I used authentic rice paper, which is the traditional spring roll wrapper. f you do this, it becomes a complete mess after baking. The wrappers are all gooey and only the corners crisp up. I had to empty all of my spring rolls (after I attempted to bake them in the rice paper) and start over again- with egg roll wrappers. These worked perfect. The filling is very good, but the ingredient list should be altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by Randal Z.
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Defiantly recommend flipping them after 10 minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I really liked the baking instructions. I used shrimp instead of pork, bok choy, some bean noodles, parsely instead of cilantro and no oyster sauce. I served them with Hot Sweet and Sour sauce. You can sub with what you like. My friends,husband, and self all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Very good. Didn't take quite as long as recipe states to crisp up the wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
The key to these is in the wrapper. Too thick and they don't taste right. Get a thin wrapper and you won't be sorry. These were OK but I still prefer mine deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
filling was good but the spring roll wrappers I used SUCKED. did not bake up well at all. will try again with a different wrapper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Great easy recipe, I used bean sprouts left out cilantro and accidentally tipped more oyster sauce in but it turned out fine and tasty anyway :) They are fiddly to make but they dont have to look perfect, because they wont last long n the plate! I liked a 50/50 ratio of meat and veges maybe even 60/40 in favour of veges. I found the baking and turning once worked really well - nice and crispy, even without brushing with oil. I also cooked with the seam side down first and they kept their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I like the flavour of the filling although I think it should be egg roll wrappers instead? There are so many kinds of spring roll wrappers. i used the Vietnamese rice wrappers and then baked it. Stuck fiercely to the baking pan! Should have known... Next time, I will use a different wrapper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I have to say that I was a bit disappointed in this...The filling was delicious (I did add a bit of soy sauce also), but I think the wrappers called for are wrong. I used spring roll wrappers and they came out chewy, gummy and hard on the ends, which none of us liked. I would def try these again using egg roll wrappers, b/c I'm thinking that that is what's supposed to be used. Also, I doubled the filling and barely got 12, so maybe plan on doing that if you are wanting 12 of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States