Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Reduced the ginger to half and it was perfect!! Made it using 2tsp and it over powered all of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Wow, ginger. My whole family disliked the strong ginger taste that these had. I made them vegetarian, but would either cut the ginger out or down significantly next time. Everything else worked out ok. I'd try it again, but with modifications for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
They were great! The only critical part in making these is soaking the wrapper for the exact time before putting in the filling. Not enough time and the wrappers are tough, and too long and they rip. Just a matter of practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Absolutely great recipe!! I waited to try this as I'm not a baker, but on a rainy day, thought I'd give it a try. My greatest challenge was figuring out with the tools I had how to determine chopped, diced, finely sliced and minced....typical man!! Thank you for the Internet!! Because I knew nothing about the spring roll wrappers, I screwed my 2 test rolls up before I looked up the directions on how to handle the rice wrappers. After that no problem. Didn't have chili sauce, so made my own using chili powder and water. If I can con someone in the family into bringing ingredients next time, I'll bust some out for football season and look like a hero!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Soooo disappointed. I was wanting to L O V E these, but it didn't happen. I'm not reflecting the wrapper problem (Nasoya brand) in the review, only the filling. That opinion is mostly from the wrapper side of things. They came out overly crispy at 425 (wrapper pkg said 400 btw) & somehow stale - eventhough crispy. Filling: Ho-hum with ginger. I followed the recipe except used a little less garlic since I had garlic chile sauce. Pkg said to cook filling first. I cooked the pork, just didn't cook longer after adding additional ingredients. One T filling isn't enough. :/ I don't know why I didn't like these more. I love the idea. I wanted to. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very loosely followed the recipe... didn't have the carrot, green onion, oyster sauce, or chili sauce... so I made something more like a cousin to this recipe. And it was REALLY good. I made my own spring roll wrappers (tedious but very cheap as they only require flour, water, and salt). I used equal parts melted red pepper jelly, soy sauce, and rice wine vinegar to dress the veggies in the mix, added jalepenos and red onion, and cooked the meat in hoisin and honey. Cooking it in the oven was a fantastic tip. They were lovely and crunchy and served as an excellent surprise for the other hungry bear in my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Well I obviously did something wrong when it came to the baking, because mine did not look like the pictures! None of them really baked up very well and they got stuck to the pan so I could flip them halfway through. I greased the pan, too. Maybe need to go for something a little more die hard and greasing with EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great flavor and crunch. So much healthier to have a baked roll instead of fried. The spring roll wrappers from our nearby Asian market were a little hard to work with for beginners. The rolls stuck to our teeth; I'd use egg roll wrappers next time. We eliminated the oyster sauce (due to shellfish allergy) and cilantro and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The supposed use of spring roll wrappers (rice paper) is very deceiving. I used authentic rice paper, which is the traditional spring roll wrapper. f you do this, it becomes a complete mess after baking. The wrappers are all gooey and only the corners crisp up. I had to empty all of my spring rolls (after I attempted to bake them in the rice paper) and start over again- with egg roll wrappers. These worked perfect. The filling is very good, but the ingredient list should be altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Randal Z.
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Defiantly recommend flipping them after 10 minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States