Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Well I obviously did something wrong when it came to the baking, because mine did not look like the pictures! None of them really baked up very well and they got stuck to the pan so I could flip them halfway through. I greased the pan, too. Maybe need to go for something a little more die hard and greasing with EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great flavor and crunch. So much healthier to have a baked roll instead of fried. The spring roll wrappers from our nearby Asian market were a little hard to work with for beginners. The rolls stuck to our teeth; I'd use egg roll wrappers next time. We eliminated the oyster sauce (due to shellfish allergy) and cilantro and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The supposed use of spring roll wrappers (rice paper) is very deceiving. I used authentic rice paper, which is the traditional spring roll wrapper. f you do this, it becomes a complete mess after baking. The wrappers are all gooey and only the corners crisp up. I had to empty all of my spring rolls (after I attempted to bake them in the rice paper) and start over again- with egg roll wrappers. These worked perfect. The filling is very good, but the ingredient list should be altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Randal Z.
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Defiantly recommend flipping them after 10 minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I really liked the baking instructions. I used shrimp instead of pork, bok choy, some bean noodles, parsely instead of cilantro and no oyster sauce. I served them with Hot Sweet and Sour sauce. You can sub with what you like. My friends,husband, and self all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Very good. Didn't take quite as long as recipe states to crisp up the wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
The key to these is in the wrapper. Too thick and they don't taste right. Get a thin wrapper and you won't be sorry. These were OK but I still prefer mine deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
filling was good but the spring roll wrappers I used SUCKED. did not bake up well at all. will try again with a different wrapper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Great easy recipe, I used bean sprouts left out cilantro and accidentally tipped more oyster sauce in but it turned out fine and tasty anyway :) They are fiddly to make but they dont have to look perfect, because they wont last long n the plate! I liked a 50/50 ratio of meat and veges maybe even 60/40 in favour of veges. I found the baking and turning once worked really well - nice and crispy, even without brushing with oil. I also cooked with the seam side down first and they kept their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I like the flavour of the filling although I think it should be egg roll wrappers instead? There are so many kinds of spring roll wrappers. i used the Vietnamese rice wrappers and then baked it. Stuck fiercely to the baking pan! Should have known... Next time, I will use a different wrapper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States