Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Baked Pork Spring Rolls Haiku: "'Guts' of these were GREAT, I'd make those and eat alone, and just skip the 'rolls." So I followed the recipe exactly and did end up w/ more filling than I could use for rolling (which incidentally, I had to do w/ Natsoya's egg roll wrappers, as that's all that I could find at my 4 nearby grocery stores, but I should've taken my Dad's suggestion and just asked at one of the way more than 4 nearby Chinese restaurants if I could buy spring roll wrappers from them!) Anyways, the filling was SO good and I actually liked the extras of it better spooned over rice, rather than the trouble of rolling and baking. (And absolutely, fried would've been much tastier, but the recipe is for "baked" and that's what I did.) I'm so glad that I tried this though b/c I've never prepared spring or egg rolls b4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
So good! I used a pound of pork since that's what I had and extra sesame oil. I also used coleslaw mix like other reviewers said and they turned out fantastic! I don't know if anybody else had this issue, but the first test batch I did stuck super bad to the pan. I sprayed it with non-stick spray and they were perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is excellent. I actually had some ground turkey that I wanted to use up so I used that instead and it was still so good. I used coleslaw mix too! I also didn't have green onion and I omitted the cilantro (the husband doesn't like it). I think that I would have enjoyed the cilantro but I can see how it would overpower this if you don't LOVE it. I brushed them with oil after flipping. The only thing that I noticed happening was where I had moistened it with the cornstarch became thin when baking and some of the filling came through. But I probably over-filled them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Reduced the ginger to half and it was perfect!! Made it using 2tsp and it over powered all of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My whole family disliked the strong ginger taste that these had. I made them vegetarian, but would either cut the ginger out or down significantly next time. Everything else worked out ok. I'd try it again, but with modifications for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
They were great! The only critical part in making these is soaking the wrapper for the exact time before putting in the filling. Not enough time and the wrappers are tough, and too long and they rip. Just a matter of practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Absolutely great recipe!! I waited to try this as I'm not a baker, but on a rainy day, thought I'd give it a try. My greatest challenge was figuring out with the tools I had how to determine chopped, diced, finely sliced and minced....typical man!! Thank you for the Internet!! Because I knew nothing about the spring roll wrappers, I screwed my 2 test rolls up before I looked up the directions on how to handle the rice wrappers. After that no problem. Didn't have chili sauce, so made my own using chili powder and water. If I can con someone in the family into bringing ingredients next time, I'll bust some out for football season and look like a hero!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Soooo disappointed. I was wanting to L O V E these, but it didn't happen. I'm not reflecting the wrapper problem (Nasoya brand) in the review, only the filling. That opinion is mostly from the wrapper side of things. They came out overly crispy at 425 (wrapper pkg said 400 btw) & somehow stale - eventhough crispy. Filling: Ho-hum with ginger. I followed the recipe except used a little less garlic since I had garlic chile sauce. Pkg said to cook filling first. I cooked the pork, just didn't cook longer after adding additional ingredients. One T filling isn't enough. :/ I don't know why I didn't like these more. I love the idea. I wanted to. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very loosely followed the recipe... didn't have the carrot, green onion, oyster sauce, or chili sauce... so I made something more like a cousin to this recipe. And it was REALLY good. I made my own spring roll wrappers (tedious but very cheap as they only require flour, water, and salt). I used equal parts melted red pepper jelly, soy sauce, and rice wine vinegar to dress the veggies in the mix, added jalepenos and red onion, and cooked the meat in hoisin and honey. Cooking it in the oven was a fantastic tip. They were lovely and crunchy and served as an excellent surprise for the other hungry bear in my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Well I obviously did something wrong when it came to the baking, because mine did not look like the pictures! None of them really baked up very well and they got stuck to the pan so I could flip them halfway through. I greased the pan, too. Maybe need to go for something a little more die hard and greasing with EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States