Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Taste awesome however rolls a bit hard to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amboy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I was disappointed in these. The flavor was not bad, but the baking time was too long. They ended up over brown/crisp and the filling was dried out and skimpy. If I had to do over again, I would double the veggies and bake them for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I adapted this recipe to be vegetarian by leaving out the pork and added a bit more other ingredients. I also added some mushrooms and super thin rice noodles (cellophane noodles) to the recipe. I found the filling had a nice flavor. However I didn't really enjoy these baked at all. Also the person gave no instructions on wrapping so I fumbled around until I realized I needed to start by putting the spring roll wrappers in a diamond shape. The paste I was told to make caused a white powdery-ness on the wrappers where I sealed them, I didn't enjoy that. Additionally despite adding the oil.... these were really dry and too hard and chewy. They lacked the pert crispness of fried spring rolls. I have another batch to make and I may brush them more generously with the oil to see if I can make it work for me. One last thing... the recipe never mentions that its absolutely required to keep spring roll wrappers damp. Once they dry out the texture changes and cooking them one change that at all. I kept mine covered with a damp towel while I was rolling the next one up. Also, even though I love cilantro... I didn't think it belonged in the recipe. I did add it anyway but next time I'd omit it for sure if I tried this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
My husband really liked these! They are fairly easy to make, although a bit time consuming. I thought they were ok, though a bit bland. I will make them again however. Would rate them 3.5 if I could ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These were great. I've always fried my spring rolls in the past, but these taste just as good and are so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were good - definitely didn't miss the frying. They did get dark very quickly though so keep an eye on them. I'll use this method going forward with different fillings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These were not simple to make, but that could be because I was having my 4 year old help me. I did use the shortcut of using the coleslaw mix and it was wonderfully easy. My littlest kids seemed to really like these but us older ones didn't care too much for them. Probably won't do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! I made a dipping sauce of 6TB Apricot Preserves + 2TB Dijon + 2TB Soy Sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
doubled the recipe, thinking I'd have a few leftover for lunches the next day, when we had a dinner party of 7. Guess NOT! They were a huge hit, especially with a the kick of freshly grated ginger, the perfect warmth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
great recipe. We LOVED that these are much more "guilt free" because they are baked! we just don't do fried food in our house. I made them vegetarian, but I'm sure they would be good with ground pork or even ground turkey too. I doubled (and next time would even triple) the cabbage mixture since I was not including the meat. I also used the egg roll wrappers...next time I'll be sure to find SPRING roll wrappers to help with the crisping in the oven. We'll definitely make these treats again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States