Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
They were easier to make than I expected. The spring roll pastry I used was really easy to work with (Spring Home TYJ SPring Roll Pastry). I found it at our local asian market. They were spicier than I am used to from Chinese restaurants so I may not add the chili sauce next time. I used bean sprouts instead of cabbage to make it easier but I'm sure the cabbage would have been better though I don't feel they suffered because of it. I made the sauce suggested by another reviewer (1/2 C. lemon juice, 1/3 c. soy sauce, 1 t. chili sauce. one chopped green onion and 1 t. chopped cilantro). Yummy but spicy. Duck sauce was Ok with it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe is nothing short of amazing. What I love about it is its versatility, namely that you can change up the filling (as other reviewers attest) and it still turns out great. I also love that no frying is involved, and they come out really crispy. No changes, seriously. The only thing I do different for my personal preference is brush the spring rolls with sesame oil instead of vegetable oil because it adds flavor and is healthier. A keeper! Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I really liked these, I know they are not traditional spring rolls but they were great, even my 2 yr old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrshens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
My newly married brother was looking for some side dish ideas and I found this one looking for him. I tried them just now, but with chicken (store was out of ground pork...need to shop earlier in the day), slaw mix (make it easy and fast so I could let him know how they were), and egg roll wrappers because my local store doesn't carry spring roll wrappers. I have to say, these were great!! I have a whole bunch frozen because I purposely doubled the recipe. Also I love spicy food, so I added extra chili sauce. Thanks so much for this recipe. It didn't take me long at all and it tastes great. Not to mention I have something easy to take to work with me now for something different (work fast food right now...hello potato oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
The filling was really great - but I would suggest using spring roll wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers - my grocery store only had egg roll and the wrappers were bland. Also it is quite meaty so if you like a lighter roll then I would suggest halfing the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I thought these were good, but not great. The wrapper just didn't taste right, not like it does when I fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These are the best ever, much more like empress rolls. No need to fry, bakes crisp and easy. Freezes well too! Use water and cornstarch mixed and dip your fingers in it then wet the edges just before you roll each wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
YUM! I love the fact that these spring rolls still had that nice crunch even without being deep-fryed. My filling was a combination of chicken, pork, and shrimp and rather than using lettuce and carrots, I used a bag of coleslaw. To save time, I used a food processor to gring up everything. This was my first experience making spring rolls and I struggled with the wrappers a little bit because they kept breaking even though I followed the instructions. I found it much easier when I filled a pie pan with lukewarm water and added a bit of cornstarch. After dipping the wrapper on both sides for a couple seconds it was much easier to fold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States