Baked Pork Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Ok, this was a fantastic recipe to start with. I only made a few minor changes: 1-I lightly breaded the chops before browning, as a matter of fact I did not egg wash them, I just coated with flour & then browned. 2-I chopped an onion & threw it into the pan to saute close to the end of the chops browning. And then put the onion into bake with the chops. 3-I used a small (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes instead of tomatoe sauce. **NOTE when I tried this recipe I used about 1/2 inch thick bone-in chops & it only took about 30 min NOT 1 hour to bake so keep an eye out. This dish was wonderful served with rice on the side, you can even spoon some of the liquid from the chops pan onto the rice.....Try this recipe, you & or your family will thank you for trying it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty & Jennifer Shafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rankin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I always cook pork chops on the stove, so rather than getting another dish dirty, I used the browning pan, put on a tight fitting lid, reduced the heat to low and cooked for 45min. A simple recipe made simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Love it. LOVED it. But of course, I made a mistake. I mixed all of the ingredients together and added a tsp. of worcestershire sauce then just slathered it on the boneless chops. I then poured the tomato sauce over it (a larger can) and baked it for the recommended time. It was fantastic. My husband and I had the leftovers the next day over rice. We had both the dinner and leftovers with Brussels sprouts and it was phenomenal. Great recipe, thanks a million, this will go into the recipe box as a winner! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was SOOOO good. When I first showed my husband the recipe, he said he wasn't so sure of it, but then again, neither was I. I was looking for something easy, and different. This was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. I thought it may have been too much liquid, because I used really thin pork chops, but I still followed the recipe to a tee, and it worked out perfectly. I didn't cook them in the oven for an hour, since they were thin chops, I kept an eye on them, and probably only needed to cook them for about 1/2 hour before they reached 160 degrees. The sauce reminded me of my grandmother's home made barbeque sauce. DELICIOUS!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Wonderful!! I use thick, lean pork chops and I don't care for mustard, so I leave it out. The chops are not dry at all. The sauce comes out slightly sweet from the brown sugar, but spicy enough because of the pepper. This goes absolutely wonderfully with the recipe for honey roasted red potatoes found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
You're right, Laurie...my Mom's original recipe called for fresh chopped celery, but my kids never liked the texture. Celery seed is a great addition. Also, I forgot to mention that covering the dish tightly in foil helps keep the chops moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Very good chop recipe. Overall my family liked it alot. Meat was moist and had a good flavor. I played with the ingredients abit. Used only half of the brown sugar ( actually used a dark Molasses sugar ) added some worchestshire sauce to the tomato sauce, topping the chops with one sliced onion and afew minced garlic cloves to kick-up the flavor of the sauce some. Was very good served with mashed potatoes,green beans and fresh fruit. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was delicious. I didn't have dried mustard so I mixed dijon mustard with the tomato sauce before I pored it over the chops. I also added some minced garlic and onion. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Ok maybe a 3.5. The pork chops were very chewy and tough. I think if I were to make this again, I would forget about precooking them altoghter. This might be something I would do in the crockpot instead. After 20 mins. in the oven (350)the internal temp. on my boneless chops was 170 degrees. I was very worried about the sauce, after adding the fresh lemon juice, it tasted like cocktail sauce. But in actuallity, the sauce was the best part of this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I received many compliments on this recipe. I only used about a tablespoon of olive oil and used pasta sauce in place of the canned tomato sauce. The pepper gave it just the right amount of spiciness for us. Thank you Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Baked Pork Chops I

See how to make quick-and-easy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States