Baked Pork Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I'm going to try this one again, next time using a thicker cut or covering it while it's baking. It came out a bit dry. My husband really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I would use thinner chops and upgrade the tomato sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
I was underwhelmed with this recipe. It was not terrible, but the thick pork was a bit tough and the sauce left much to be desired. My husband called the dish "pork meatloaf" because the sauce was so similar to ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Wonderful!! I use thick, lean pork chops and I don't care for mustard, so I leave it out. The chops are not dry at all. The sauce comes out slightly sweet from the brown sugar, but spicy enough because of the pepper. This goes absolutely wonderfully with the recipe for honey roasted red potatoes found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This was so tasty! It was perfectly moist and so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
My 95 yr old aunt has made this recipe passed down from her mother and I have been searching for it for a couple of years. The only difference is hers calls for 1 tsp. celery seed, which I add. This is yummy. We refer to them as "country pork chops".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
You're right, Laurie...my Mom's original recipe called for fresh chopped celery, but my kids never liked the texture. Celery seed is a great addition. Also, I forgot to mention that covering the dish tightly in foil helps keep the chops moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Ok, this was a fantastic recipe to start with. I only made a few minor changes: 1-I lightly breaded the chops before browning, as a matter of fact I did not egg wash them, I just coated with flour & then browned. 2-I chopped an onion & threw it into the pan to saute close to the end of the chops browning. And then put the onion into bake with the chops. 3-I used a small (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes instead of tomatoe sauce. **NOTE when I tried this recipe I used about 1/2 inch thick bone-in chops & it only took about 30 min NOT 1 hour to bake so keep an eye out. This dish was wonderful served with rice on the side, you can even spoon some of the liquid from the chops pan onto the rice.....Try this recipe, you & or your family will thank you for trying it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty & Jennifer Shafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rankin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This was a fabulous recipe!! I made a few small additions and changes to it that gave it even more taste! I dredged the pork chops in egg and flour then in bread crumbs before browning them! I also chopped one large onion and sauteed it with a clove of garlic then poured it over the chops after the brown sugar mix, but before the tomatoes. Instead of tomatoe sauce, I used 2 cups of diced tomatoes. Cooking the chops for 40 minutes covered with tin foil produced a much moister and more tender chop! I served it over rice! My 4 1/2 year old son ate an entire chop and rice he liked it so much, and he fights about eating everything! Thanks Kate for the AMAZING recipe!!! It is now a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
This was one of those days that I was running around like a chicken with my head cut off, making many mistakes---and it still turned out very good! I didn't have brown sugar, so used white. I forgot the lemon juice so put it in after the sugar mixture. I did add onions, garlic and celery seed as suggested in other reviews. It reminded me of a dish I used to make with cabbage, pork chops and tomato sauce. A tasty comfort food. Thanks Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Baked Pork Chops I

See how to make quick-and-easy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States