Baked Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is a fairly well known dish in the South and I have made it many times. My tweaks... Use pineapple tibits, the chunks are a little big and the crushed is not quite right either. I always use extra sharp cheddar. It's always great. Always use the brand name Ritz crackers. The topping is a significant part of the flavor combo and you can tell the difference with store brand crackers. I have taken this to potlucks but it's not very eye catching and may not get eaten because it is hard to identify on sight. One reviewer suggested marischino cherries. I love that idea and it adds the needed color and you know right away it's not scalloped potatoes! It is sweet so not a side dish that you would make often, but really good for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I have used this recipe for years and it is always a hit. For Thanksgiving/Christmas I add dried cranberries to the pineapple mixture and sprinkle chopped pecans on top of the cracker topping. This one is a must on my holiday table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This delightful dish has become a favorite with my family! It's sweet, rich and not exactly healthy but a great treat. Makes a unique potluck idea: there won't be duplicates!! Good idea to mix first flour & butter, then add sugar & juice, then pineapples and last fold in cheese - nice smooth texture this way. (Though I've also mixed it all right in the casserole for a super quick dish! Never had a problem that way either!) By the way, it only serves four in this house! ;) I would double it to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
My family LOVED this recipe. I melted the butter and then whisked the flour into that. This avoided the raw flour taste. I added a little butter to the Ritz cracker crumbs and everyone loved this. Thanks for a great recipe Tracee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
My grandma always made this for holidays. I'm asked for the recipe everytime I make it! The only diffence is I double this recipe, use 1/2 pineapple chunks & 1/2 crushed pineapple, & melt butter to mix w/ crushed crackers for topping. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was excellent. I made it as a side dish with meatloaf and everyone loved it!! Will definitely pass on the recipe and continue to make myself! I would consider adding nuts in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
i would use a little less cracker crumbs next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Yum! Easy to make. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Absolutely yummy! I took this to a potluck right before Thanksgiving and was asked for the recipe by several women who wanted something different for their Thanksgiving dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is fabulous! Such a nice compliment to ham. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States