Baked Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was okay--it was nice for something different. Like other reviewers, I made some changes: I used hamburger buns instead of bread and reduced the sugar (1/4 cup of white and 1/2 brown) and the margarine (3/4 of a stick). I also crumbled Ritz crackers and sharp cheddar on top to make it more savory, but it was still too much like bread pudding to serve as a side for my taste. Also, it didn't reheat well, so I'd recommend making it when you have a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this for years using pineapple, then tried it with chunky applesauce....it is just heavenly either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This recipe was super easy! I added 1/4 tsp Nutmeg and 1/2 tsp Cinnamon, and diced the bread into smaller pieces. I used it as a dessert with tea. It would be great served with vanilla icecream. Next time I will have it with sausage at brunch and will add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe! As you mix the ingredients together, you may sense that it needs a little more bread in order to keep it from being soupy. I usually add more bread until it seems "right!" Not only delicious with ham, but with barbequed ribs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
too sweet, i didnt like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svetka69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I personally did not care for this. Maybe with some icecream on top, but it was mushy. It kind of reminded me of eating bread pudding, but it was just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I did make one change, I didn't have enough eggs, so I checked the substitution section of my Allrecipies cookbook and used one whole mashed banana and 1 tsp. Baking powder in place of two eggs. I took this dish to Easter dinner and it was the hit of the afternoon! Everyone asked for the recipe, bananas included!! This dish is a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Made this second time in a row now. Instead of regular white bread, I use King's Hawaiian Sweet Buttery Rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Awesome recipe!!! We ate this with a spiral ham and the kids adored it!! My husband didnt care for it but he's not into any cooked fruit. Ther leftovers were warmed and served with a scoop of ice cream over top. Its safe to say I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I can't stop eating this! It's almost a must-have with pork or ham. I believe it would also make a YUMMY dessert served warm with a dollop of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. I used 7 slices of bread, cut the sugar in half, and used 3 (jumbo) eggs. Can't say enough good about this one - - FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States