Baked Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a crowed pleaser. I have made this recipe over the last few years to take to pot lucks or graduation parties as it can be eaten as a dessert or a savior dish, and I always bring home an empty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This dish was served as dessert with a menu of spicy mango baked chicken, rice pilaf, steamed broccoli, and honeydew melon. It went together quickly and baked alongside the chicken. When I was mixing everything together, I realized I was out of cornstarch. I used flour instead and it didn't make a big difference. I served this baked pineapple dish with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and spooned it over the top. Everyone RAVED how good it was!! Definetly a recipe I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is a "wonderful" recipe! It becomes "fantastic" with the omission of water & cinnamon and the addition of fresh pineapple, 1/4 c. Grand Marnier and orange zest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I took others advice and reserved a quarter cup of juice in place of the water. Scaled back on the sugar by 1/4 C.. It was too sweet and I wound up throwing most of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Iomitted the water and used the juices in the canned pineapple. I used the recommended corn starch but only 1/2 cup of sugar. The overall result was a very sugary sweet topping that would go better on top of a sundae not ham. I didn't have bread to make the typical baked pineapple side dish but this is not a good subsitute unless you are looking for a sweet, gooey, sundae topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was delicious. Just a quick note, I was out of cornstarch, and so I substituted it with about 5 tablespoons of all-purpose flour, and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I was looking for a recipe similar to the baked pineapple casserole I grew up with in Western PA, but had a difficult time due to most having bread in the recipe. This was the closest I found. I do used about 1/2-3/4 c sugar, and keep half or all of the pineapple juice because draining crushed pineapple can be a pain. You could add another egg (more custard-like) or another Tbsp of cornstarch if you're concerned about it being runny, but I usually have no problem. As is, this recipe reminds me of home, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaims Nemeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Very tasty and easy to make. This was a perfect side dish for our ham dinner last Sunday! I really like grilled pineapple and this was almost as good. I must confess that I used half the sugar, but I do that 99% of the time anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Was way better than I expected and was a perfect side to our ham dinner. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I was surprised I liked this so much. Went great with a ham dinner. Following others recommendations, I used a little less cornstarch, (1/2 TBSP. less but I think it would have been fine with the full amount) I used less sugar (by half, I think this was a good move, but would like to try brown sugar in the future) and used the pineapple juice instead of water. I think using the can with all the juice might make this "juicier" so I will try that the next time. I think I would prefer to mix the cinnamon in with all the other ingredients also. But thanks for a recipe that opened up my eyes to something new. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States