Baked Pesto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
So good! Great flavor, easy and delicious! I marinated the chicken for about an hour in the pesto before baking so the flavor could really sink in! Will definitly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Try buying thick breasts and lightly poking them all over with a fork to help the marinade really seep into the chicken. Cut a pocket into each breast and stuff it with motz cheese, closing it with a toothpick. Marinate the chicken for at least an hour, then bake according to the directions. After adding the tomato feel free to add a light sprinkling of cheese for presentation. The only way I can get the males in my family to eat chicken breast (deemed to be "boring" and "too healthy") is to stuff it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The only thing hubby and I liked about this was that the chicken was cooked perfectly--tender and juicy. Ideally the various flavors in a dish should all marry well and blend together for a finished product that has its own taste and no one flavor is dominant. While I had high hopes and expectations for this, I was really off the mark on this one. The chicken, while tender and juicy, was just flavorless chicken coated with a pronounced flavor of (homemade) pesto which didn't permeate into the chicken at all. This, then, topped with raw tomato barely heated under the melted, near flavorless mozarella, made for a very disappointing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I cooked this for my family yesterday and they LOVED it! This recipe was quick to prepare, did not have too many ingredients, is completely affordable and tastes great! It has just the right amount of spice, and the chicken comes out of the oven so tender you can cut it with a fork. I could not find frozen pesto sauce though, so I used the pesto you find in the spaghetti isle at the store... it was delish! It will be a new "regular" in our family meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Hougas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
So easy I can't even believe it...I used my own fav pesto. Didn't have mozzarella, so I sprinkled with feta cheese. AWESOME. Next time I think I'll add some chopped sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh. Anything this easy and tasty gets 5 stars from me, thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A group of men and I served this meal to a group of women to honor them and the women thought it was absolutely phenomenal! We put the pesto sauce in a gallon sized bag, got the chicken covered then when we were done, we put the remaining pesto over the chicken. The women loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Was surpised to see that by the time I finished dishing out the dinners- my daughter had gobbled her chicken down. No tomatoes for my son however. The left over chicken was made into chicken salad sandwich and hubby gobbled that down too-Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Excellent and easy. We have the flash frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts which can be baked from frozen, so I spread pesto over the frozen breasts and cooked. Cook times worked even with the frozen, and it turned out flavorful and delicious. We both loved it; this is a great meal to turn to on weeknights! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This dish is rather dry and plain which I wouldn't have thought with using pesto. It tasted much better after marinating it in the pesto for a couple of hours. The cheese goes unnoticeable. I'll try using a stronger cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I don't think I even made this right and it was SO easy and SO good. I had a lot of chicken so I used the entire package of pesto. I marinated it in a baking dish for about 30 min before baking it (I also lowered the heat a little because I used thinly sliced chicken). I cooked the chicken right in the baking dish (instead of a baking sheet) and it was amazingly tender, tasty, with a nice sauce. My husband - who is pickier than a 3 year old when it comes to food! - took one bite and said, "This chicken is really good!' Thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States