Baked Pesto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Everyone liked it - even the kids. I omitted the tomatoes and cheese (probably would have added both had it just been for the adults). I marinated the chicken breasts in the pesto for about 30 minutes, then baked for 25 min - very tender and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Wow! I marinated this for 24 hours in the pesto. Then I used JACKROX suggestions and used sun dried tomatoes and feta instead. My kids ate this like it was going out of style and it was easy and delicious. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Loved this dish! So moist and garlicky...will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Katie*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aliso Viejo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
OMG!! So, good! I am in love with the Benno's Birdy at a famous deli in Ann Arbor, MI. It is muy delicioso! We followed the recipe, but oven-roasted the tomatoes, forked the chicken and marinated it for about 45 minutes before baking, uncovered, for about thirty minutes at 400. Served with a tasty baguette. Yumm-o!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This recipes was delicious considering it only took 25 minutes to make! The chicken turned out moist and full of flavor - very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made this recipe last night w/chicken thighs and it was wonderful. I used a pesto packet and followed the directions without cooking the sauce. poured it over the chicken to marinate 30 mins. I also baked it in a glass pan, at 350 degrees. I made alfredo sauce on the side from a packet I had and added a little juice from the basil sauce and mixed it with linguine. Will make again definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I loved this recipe. Possibly the best chicken dish I have ever made. I always buy a pesto sauce that is in a jar in the canned food section of the grocery. I did take another reviewer advice (which I think made this recipe seem more complex (but easy) and even more delicious) and stuffed the chicken breast with mozz cheese. I sealed it up with a couple toothpicks while baking. Remove them before serving. The tomatoes and cheese on top are a must. The olive oil for the pesto keeps the chicken sooo juicy! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I've cooked penne pasta with pesto sauce for a few years now. We've added chicken and mushrooms, but we've never had just pesto and the chicken. This was really good! We had to make some changes only b/c we were forced to. We went to the meat counter and asked for 2 full breasts and we got 2 good ol' Iowa chicken breasts... they're huge! They were 16 oz each (8 oz per 1/2 breast for 4 pieces total); almost twice the size called for in this recipe. I didn't use the refrigerated pesto b/c I couldn't find it so I opted to use the sauce I normally make for the meal I usually make mentioned above. It made one cup of pesto sauce and it was a perfect amount, even for the amount of chicken I used! I omitted the tomato b/c DH doesn't like them, and I didn't think I would w/ this dish, either. The cook time should be right on, since I had twice amount of chicken called for it took exactly twice as long. I didn't use motz cheese, instead I used feta (the full 4 oz package) and it was FANTASTIC!! Also, the recipe doesn't call for doing anything w/ the pesto sauce after coating the chicken in the bowl so I added it in the baking pan w/ the chicken and all. The juices from the chicken mixed w/ the extra pesto sauce was awesome; next time I will cook some noodles to have on the side w/ the extra sauce. We had a Romaine leaf salad and some texas toast garlic bread! This was a great meal, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
We love the flavor of basil pesto. This was a hit. I used our own pesto that I had made and frozen in ice cube trays. And coated both sides of the chicken with it. I did not have any tomatoes so did without. Next time will dice up some tomatoes and put them on to warm slightly in the oven. The chicken came out moist and flavorful. It was delicious. If you don't like a lot of pesto then just coat one side of the chicken with pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n2cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Tastes like a Margarita Pizza! Really good and easy to prepare..would I say it is the best meal No! but for the quick yum chicken meal can't beat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States