Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a very quick and easy recipe to put together that is hearty and satisfying and surpringly flavourful. I did not take the sausages out of their casings and simply fried them up with the onions and then sliced them into 1/4 inch medallions. Of course,you could add whatever else you wanted from the fridge - mushrooms, bell pepper - but honestly, this is very good as written and I appreciated having a simple but stick-to-your-ribs way to use up that otherwise-boring package of spicy sausages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Excellent dish and very satisfying. I made far too much of course but they all loved it. Cut the skins off my sausage and rolled them into meat balls. The melted mozzarella was just perfect on top. Lovely!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My family and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a great meal. I would argue it takes a bit longer than 15 minutes to put together...say more like 25 or so for a single dad with little help from the kids. BUT, the kids loved it. SO, it went into the hand written recipe book. Very good meal with left overs. YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Forks, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great pasta dish. Needed a little more sauce, added some pasta sauce I had left over on fridge. But, yes great base for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe was great and SOOO easy. I was able to just throw it together in about 20 minutes and let it bake for about 30 minutes. So yummy. I did make a few changes just due to what I had on hand and after reading some reviews. I used Hot italian sausage, thats what I had and also made seasoning very easy - I didnt have to add a thing! I did not use white wine but that is because I forgot... I used a large shallot instead of onion because I didnt have any onions I added a large bell pepper, chopped For my sauce, I found out that Prego now makes a "Spicy Sausage" flavor and that worked PERFECTLY for this meal. I also added a can of Italian flavor petite diced tomatoes just to keep it moist - I hate dry pasta... Topped with mozzerrela and baked @ 375 for about 30 minutes. Other than adding the pepper, I kept the recipe pretty much as is. I'm not sure what could be added to change it up but it was good and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Good base recipe. My chardonnay gave the dish a subtle olive flavor. We added spinach and used a few different cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this but with some minor changes. I added some Italian herbs and omitted the tomato paste. I was making a half size version for just two people and using a whole can of dices tomatoes just worked better for me. My wife liked it which is saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
made this last night (exactly per recipe). Hubby's only comments were, 'needs more meat, less pasta.' I thought it needed a little more kick, too. OK, I'll probably try this again and will use 2 lbs. mild/sweet Italian sausage (or 1 lb. Italian sausage & 3/4 lb. ground beef); add 1 tsp. minced garlic; 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes; 1/2 tsp. dried oregano. And only 8-10 oz. pasta. I like the flavor of the Italian sausage, instead of plain ground beef, and I like the mozzarella cheese all on top instead of mozz/cheddar all thoughout. Thanks for the recipe. Think this will make a nice occassional Italian dish in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States