Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved it, everyone went back for seconds. I used half hot sausage and half sweet and the hot sausage gave it a nice spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
SOOOOO yummy! I made this to feed 25 high school girl basketball players ( I quadrupled the recipe) and it was a hit. They went back for seconds. IM giving it 4 stars and not 5 as I thought that the sauce as written in the recipe was a little too bland and acidic for my taste. I like a little more robust flavor. So I added minced garlic, beef base, chicken base, white pepper, italian seasoning, onion powder and red wine rather than white wine and white sugar. I also only boiled the pasta for 5 minutes, and they came out almost too soft after baking ( I did use a nesco) so next time I will not cook the pasta at all. Turned out great though! I will make this again for sure, the sauce is a great base for me to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I rated this recipe three stars, but my wife indicated it was more than three stars. To me, it was garden variety pasta; the 1/2 cup of wine didn't seem to add much to the flavor. I must leave open the possibility that I wasn't as hungry as my wife, tasting the sauce along the way to try to pump it up a little. I did add a little basil and salt. As it was, the sauce seemed a little flat. Since my wife ranked it highly, I'm giving the recipe the benefit of the doubt with four stars and will try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Mayis_N
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Super easy to make and very tasty. I made it for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! The next time I make it, I'll sautee mushrooms with the onions and sausages. Like others, I didn't use white wine, but will try the wine next time. Thank you for the wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe was great. Even my husband liked it, without adding any condiment from the fridge, which he usually does (usually Tobasco)! I did change it a bit, as well, based on what I had at home and what other reviewers had said. I didn't have wine, so I used a bit of white-grape juice, red-wine vinegar, and some water. I also didn't have diced tomatoes with garlic, so I used whole canned tomatoes, cut them up myself, and added some garlic powder. I also added some fresh basil and dried seasonings (bit more basil, since I didn't have much fresh, and parsley). It was a bit oily -- I'm not sure you really need to use the olive oil, given how fatty the sausage is! But when my husband went for seconds, I knew I should review this one. My kids were mixed -- 2 of 3 liked it. The picky one didn't like the chunkiness of the sausage, but that's to be expected! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was very good. Even DH, who is not an Italian sausage fan, had two helpings. I cut back on the cheese to about 1 1/2 cups but wish I hadn't, even though I used a smaller, 8" x 11" pan. I also used rigatoni since I had it in the pantry and deglazed with white zin since I had it in the fridge. Filling tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was delicious, even though I didn't have white wine:( I added mushrooms and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I substituted hot Italian sausage, because I already had that on hand, and that worked out well. I really enjoyed the white wine flavor-glad I went out to the store to get that. The only thing I want to improve next time is to decrease the fat (I could taste it), so maybe I will drain it on a paper towel and ommit the olive oil. My brothers really liked it..they said it was "bomb," hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
So yummy! I made it exactly as it said with just a few modifications, I did use herbs and spices as well as red peppers and mushrooms and a big can of tomatoes not just the 14.5 ounce one that the recipe called for. This dish is really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This recipe is wonderful, so customizable. I used wheat rotini noodles. Saute'd 4 cloves minced garlic in olive oil, put in cup of sliced mushrooms and dusted those with dried basil and thyme while they saute'd for about five minutes. I did not have tomato sauce, so I opened a jar of store brand spaghetti sauce and poured over the mixture in the large saute pan. Added the drained noodles (do not rinse, just drain), mixed, and then put into the 9 x 13 glass baking pan. Topped with 8 oz of mozarella/provolone shreds and baked for 20 mins to melt the cheese. Final touch to sprinkle on fresh aged parmesan cheese on your warm serving. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY442

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States