Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My family isn't big on the pasta dishes, but they all liked this recipe! I didn't have an onion so I used fresh minced garlic instead and I think it gave it better flavor. I also used a lot of pepper in the tomatoe sauce. I served it with spinach penne & my kids couldn't tell the pasta was green, so they ate it and loved it. Best is that it is easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Pretty good! Followed the recipe as is but added more garlic powder and seasonings (oregano, basil). Will definitely make again for a quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I'm sorry to say that I did not care for this recipe. It was too tomatoey for our taste. Maybe next time I'll leave out one of the tomato products, either the tomato sauce or more likely the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I didn't have tomato sauce so I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. After adding the garlic, parmesan cheese, and red pepper flakes, this recipe turned out great. I mean delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Tried out this recipe for the first time and my husband and I loved it! So much flavor and richness. I did have to make a few adjustments with the ingredients I had on hand... So I used polish sausage instead and put garlic powder in since I didn't have tomato sauce with garlic. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved it, everyone went back for seconds. I used half hot sausage and half sweet and the hot sausage gave it a nice spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
SOOOOO yummy! I made this to feed 25 high school girl basketball players ( I quadrupled the recipe) and it was a hit. They went back for seconds. IM giving it 4 stars and not 5 as I thought that the sauce as written in the recipe was a little too bland and acidic for my taste. I like a little more robust flavor. So I added minced garlic, beef base, chicken base, white pepper, italian seasoning, onion powder and red wine rather than white wine and white sugar. I also only boiled the pasta for 5 minutes, and they came out almost too soft after baking ( I did use a nesco) so next time I will not cook the pasta at all. Turned out great though! I will make this again for sure, the sauce is a great base for me to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_whisk

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I rated this recipe three stars, but my wife indicated it was more than three stars. To me, it was garden variety pasta; the 1/2 cup of wine didn't seem to add much to the flavor. I must leave open the possibility that I wasn't as hungry as my wife, tasting the sauce along the way to try to pump it up a little. I did add a little basil and salt. As it was, the sauce seemed a little flat. Since my wife ranked it highly, I'm giving the recipe the benefit of the doubt with four stars and will try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States