Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
LOVED THIS!!! BUT, I changed it a tad, I used a smaller can of tomato sauce and used a jar of garden style spaghetti sauce (which has green peppers and mushrooms) instead of the tomatoes and tomato paste. I liked subtle taste of wine in the pasta bake. My family just gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a big hit in our house last evening. Yummy! I didn't have white wine in the house when making the dish, and it STILL tasted great. I also used turkey sausage in the dish, to cut down on some fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
My family really liked this. It was quick and easy for a Sunday night dinner after working hard in the yard and household chores, I had little energy to put into a big meal. It was ready and on the table within an hour and 10 minutes. I added garlic with the onions and sausage and took another's advice and reduced the tomato by eliminating the tomato paste. I also didn't have the type of cheese recommended, so substituted a little bit of chedder cheese on "one" side of the dish since some family members dont like melted cheese. I also added some sliced olives and chopped marinated artichokes. My 18 and 23 year old were actually fighting over the leftovers! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
My husband and I rarely find anything that we both like when it comes to just about anything, but especially food. But last night we both loved this dish. I knew it was a hit when he wrapped it up really well to save the leftovers. I didn't have any wine, so I just omitted it, I added a dash of sugar to cut down on the tomato zing and added some oregano. We will be having this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I thought this recipe was really good and easy to make. I liked the flavor that the wine added. The family ate it up and my husband went looking for seconds, even after a big first helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
The family really enjoyed this and it reheated very well the next day. I will use spicy sausage next time though or add crushed red pepper. My husband thought he could taste the wine (he didn't complain about it) but I couldn't specifically detect it. Thought it had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
My whole family enjoyed this recipe!!! It was delicious and very easy to prepare, even for someone like me who doesn't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This dish was wonderful!! Not only was it easy to make, but there wasn't much clean up either. I took advice from a review to add garlic, use spicy sausage, and use pasta sauce instead of all the canned tomato stuff. It turned out wonderful. I will try adding chicken and more cheese the next time I make it. This is a dish that will please any guest or family memeber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
It deserves five stars only in the category of simple pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
after mixing everything together, instead of putting it straight in the oven, i left it in the fridge overnight and it melded together well :) great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States