Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was the best and easiest dish I have made. I love the video which shoes how simple it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
DELICIOUS!!I made it pretty much as directed but after reading reviews, I added about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. I cooked the penne for 7 minutes instead of the 11 minutes on box directions for a la dente. I did add about 4 or 5 tablespoonsful of ricotta for extra body. Mixed all together, topped with mozzarella and baked for about 30 minutes. The texture was perfect--still a la dente and my husband LOVED it. Easy, easy, recipe with great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have been making something similar for years, adding pepperoni and a jar of sauce doctored up with extra garlic, oregano and a little crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is basic, good recipe. I've made a variation to this for ages. And it's never disappointed. For starters: Add garlic, ground turkey meat, basil, cilantro, oregano and sugar to the ingredient list. Add 1, or 2 fresh garlic cloves to the onions. Add them after the onions become clear to avoid burning. * note: a bit of water lessens the onion/garlic burn. And allows for less oil * Mix half package of ground turkey meat & half package Italian sausage. Cook 'til brown. Add 1 can crushed tomatoes and 1 can diced. Mix. Add more fresh garlic. Add additional seasonings at will/according to taste. Add 1/3 cup sugar. Mix and simmer. Cook pasta(of choice) in boiling, salted water for 9 minutes. Drain. DO NOT RINSE. Sprinkle with olive oil to avoid sticking. Set aside. In a casserole pan add a half cup of cooked meat sauce to the bottom. Add pasta (of choice) to casserole pan. Add meat sauce to pasta. Mix. Bake at 350• for 25 minutes covered. Remove from oven. Top with cheese ( I prefer a blend of provolone, mozzarella & Parmesan ). Sprinkle dried, or fresh cilantro on top for color. Bake uncovered for 15 minutes. Remove, let sit for several minutes. Serve with salad, and warm garlic bread. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
We loved this very easy and delicious dish. I always have penne pasta on hand, that is, until today to make this. No problem, the rotini worked out perfectly. I used Johnsonville sausage because I think it’s a better quality sausage. Also, I added a little leftover chopped red pepper I wanted to use up, and added minced garlic along with basil and oregano because I didn’t have the sauce requested in the recipe. I wanted the sauce to remain moist so I omitted the tomato paste. I put down a layer of pasta mixture and topped with half of the cheese, then the remainder pasta and cheese. It came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
It was easy. It was fun to make, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is a good, relatively fast casserole to make. My only change, because of necessity, was to use monterey jack cheese instead of mozzarella. It is a good base recipe for those who like to tweek it to their preferences. Great as written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Very good for such simple ingredients! This is a keeper and a crowd pleaser! I did add some basil and used a red wine (cabernet) in place of white wine but think the white would be fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this exactly as noted and it is a very easy & delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Meh. This was just so-so. I agree with many of the reviews on here. This needs SPICE!!! Italian-seasoned tomatoes will only add some flavor. I suggest subbing a HOT Italian sausage and / or seasoned tomato sauce and adding a handful of your favorite herbs to liven this up a bit. Without major modifications, this is a very bland, ho-drum dish. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did nothing for me. Thanks anyways, SADIEQQ. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States