Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This recipe wasn't that exciting... basically just pasta with sauce, sausage and cheese. It was ok but lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made this recipe with gluten-free pasta since I am allergic to wheat. My family usually doesn't like my gluten-free dishes, but this recipe worked well with gluten free noodles. Like another user suggested, I also used the hot italian sausage squeezed out of the casings, and my husband liked the extra kick of flavor. My kids also really enjoyed it. I am sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Great recipe with a few changes. First- I used diced plum tomatos instead of the canned ones. Second- I used spaghetti sauce instead of the 15 oz tomato sauce Third- I used red instead of white wine Fourth- I added fresh thyme and basil to the "sauce" Overall a great base to work from :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was okay but I wasn't overly impressed. This is like many other recipes and wasn't something I would be making exactly as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRDUKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I found this really good. I omitted the oil since sausage is fatty enough, worked just fine. I also put half the mixture in the pan, spread cheese over that, then the other half of the mixture and more cheese. I used a shredded italian blend. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEET1SS
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made a healthier version of this great pasta dish! Used whole grain wheat penne. Use 1 can of spaghetti sauce with mushrooms instead of the tomato sauce, diced tomatos, and paste. After cooking the onion in garlic and oil, added mushrooms and a tablespoon of red pepper flakes for a little kick! Then added white wine, a teaspoon of basil, oregano and the pasta sauce along with 1/2 cup of frozen spinach and 2 tablespoon of grated paremesan. Used only 1.5 cup of low skim mozzarella and baked for 15 minutes. My husband enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I sauteed a mess of fresh minced garlic with the onion and I added a teaspoon and a half each of dried basil, dried oregano and brown sugar. We really liked this! Very simple and very filling, not to mention budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
love, love, LOVED this! I used spaghetti sauce instead of straight tomato sauce because that was what I had. It was very nice and filling. gosh, I could go on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great recipe. I made this for a family dinner. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I was forced to change this due to availability in my pantry. First, I used hot Italian sausage from our local butcher and it is hot. I didn't use the wine or tomato paste but rather Muir Glen fire roasted diced tomatoes and Contadina pizza sauce because that's what I had. I added 3 cloves of garlic, a couple table spoons of fresh basil and some chopped flat leaf parsley mostly out of habit. I took one reviewers advice and cooked the mini penne less than al dante. I layered the pasta with the mozzarella because I always get it too crusty when I put it on top. On top I used fresh grated Parmesian. We really enjoyed it. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States