Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this for my hubby and two teenage boys, added a salad, and everyone commented on how delicious the meal was and so for us it is definitely a keeper. I started off by heating the olive oil, throwing in some minced shallots, minced garlic, chopped onions, frying for a bit before adding some hot italian sausage (the kind where you cut the casing and just use the sausage inside). I used plain tomato sauce but instead of using regular diced tomatoes and tomato paste, I used "Aylmer Accents stewed tomates with Garlic and Olive Oil" and "Hunts Tomato Paste with Herbs and Spices". The white wine really gave it a gourmet taste. If you can take spicy like we can the hot italian sausage really added a wow factor, otherwise use the mild. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This dish turned out really well. I made the following changes: I used red wine instead (didn't have white) and chicken/turkey sausage to cut down on the fat; I added some sliced mushrooms, 1 sliced zucchini, about 1/2 cup sliced fresh basil, minced garlic and various spices to the meat mixture (parsley, oregano, pepper, a few hot pepper flakes). I also used a mixture of grated gruyere, parmesan and friulan cheeses instead of the mozzarella (what we had in the fridge). Tasty, with a little bite. Even though I made changes, I was certainly inspired by your recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very easy and tastes great. Used half sweet sausage and have hot sausage, fire roasted tomatoes a little red pepper flakes and cyan pepper, gave it just the right amount of heat. Also as others have mentioned did not add the oil, sausage doesn't need it. Also cooked the onion and garlic in sausage dripping and deglazed with red wine ( that's all I had) not sure why original recipie calls for uncooked onion, has to be an error. So few changes and little seasoning makes this an easy 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was a great starter but needed a little help in the seasonings. My family loves heat so we used spicy italian sausage, added some kosher salt, italian seasoning and let the sauce simmer for awhile. This helps add a huge amount of flavor to the sauce. My family loved it and the recipe made for than enough for my sister and her kids to join us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I absolutely loved this, didn't change a thing with it TY for the recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This was awsome and put into my rec book at home. It will become a regular on the menu. I used hot Ital sausage and added 2 cloves of minced garlic. Nxt time I will use twice the cheese and this dish deserves the best. I used store brand :-( as it was my first try, won't do that again, but still it was great. I also used t. paste with Italian seasoning in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Taste great and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
My husband loves this recipe. I modify a lot of recipes because he doesn't like cheese but this one was easy to do that for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Sidlauskas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Made this last night-left out onion and wine and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States