Baked Penne and Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This has been one of my go to meals every month since I discovered it in 2009. Just for reference, add 1/2 cup more milk than advertised, that ensures less burnt to a crisp pasta. Also, add 10-15 minutes more to cooking time if you are not using the recommended size baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Very good. I also added onions and minced garlic when browning the sausage. I added a little more cheese, a little salt and pepper and Mrs. Dash. In addition to the peas I added some corn. One thing I did do differently was cook the pasta and mix it all together and bake it for only 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe is very good, my whole family likes it. I don't use the peas, and I throw in a handful of mushrooms as well. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Have made this for years but use cream of celery soup and mozzerella cheese. Kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I have made this recipe twice. Once exactly as directed and tonight with quite a few modifications. The first time I enjoyed it but the second time it was much better. First I par-cooked the whole wheat penne noodles to insure thorough cooking and less oven time. Secondly, I browned the sausage (turkey) with some onion, garlic and red bell pepper (left over that needed to be used up). Third, I combined the reduced fat cream of mushroom, 1.5 C skim milk and 1 C reduced fat colby jack (all I had) along with a dash of cayenne pepper and heated it on the stove until the cheese had melted. Finally I combined everything, along with 1/2 C peas and 1/2 C corn (left over, as well). I covered everything with another sprinkling of cheese and covered with foil, baking for 20 min. After 20 minutes, I removed the foil and topped with some herbed buttered bread crumbs combined with a few tablespoons of Parmesan cheese, which I sprinkled over the top (I didn't have any French Fried Onions). This was very good. Thanks for the great recipe. It's simple and easy and though not terribly healthful, it's excellent comfort food. The modifications I've made, though more work, made for faster cook time and allowed everything to blend better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
YUM. We couldn't stop eating it! The only changes I made were to use cream of asparagus soup because I prefer it and added corn. Hubby thought it was certainly a keeper and had 3rds...very rare for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The original recipe called for Cream of Celery soup and mozzarella cheese which is what makes this so good. This is a great one-dish meal that is perfect for using the oven timer so dinner is ready when you get home. My husband and kids love this dish so much that it has become a regular on our recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
the flavor was good, however, you definately must cook pasta first or the texture is quite mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
use less peas. use more sausage and cut smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was really good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States