Baked Pear Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Wow! I don't know what else to say! These are a flavorful dessert that looks very elegant and could definitely be gourmet looking! I took the advice of another reviewer and added a little brown sugar, splenda and vanilla to the butter and honey mixture. I cooked this for 30 minutes and then added a raspberry topping like the same reviewer. Use raspberries, a little water and splenda, blend them together and cook another 30-45 minutes. I am intending to invite over my in-laws and serve this for dessert. A new and easy favorite that I will definitely put into a regular rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Everyone thought this was tasty. I used bartlett pears. There is no need to melt the butter in advance. I cut the pears in half and cored them and stuck the butter and brown sugar in the hole, drizzled honey all over and liberally sprinkled both ginger and cinnamon. I cooked it covered for an hour and thought it turned out perfectly. Very juicy and the house smelled like honey during the cooking. MMMmmmm....:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattlegrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I added some cinnamon to the recipe. Delicious and made the house smell amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
OK loved this... I made my own lil creation. I did the pear like it stated melted 2 sticks of butter 1/2 cup of brown sugar and lil bit of white and a lil bit of real vanilla heated it up in the microwave. I used 12 pears I picked from the orchard yesterday each pear got 2 big spoon fills over each. put in the oven at 350 for 1/2 hr. Basted each with it's own sauce then mixed some fresh raspberries with some water and sugar in the blender and each got 2 spoon fills back in the oven for 30-45 min. OMG, this was such a hit the whole apartment was like what's that and everyone wanted some, but my biggest person to please is my 13 yr old child. HE LOVED IT ate 3 big pears, once it was cut up....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is tasty, but I altered it substantially. I combined honey, white wine, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon and a black tea bag and cooked until wine reduced. The added flavor of black tea gives a nice herbal quality to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My boyfriend and I enjoyed the pears, but I felt the recipe was lacking. The pears were still crunchy after an hour and the specified amount of honey and butter didn't give enough syrup to continue basting it through the cooking. The flavor was nice, but nothing too intense. The sauce that was left was REALLY good over ice cream and I'm going to try to make some kind of ginger, cinnamon syrup for ice cream in the future. I may make this again because it tasted pretty good, but only if I happen to have a few pears laying around. I wouldn't go out of my way to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I know it wasn't intended as a dessert but that's how we had it and it was great. My changes were to use fresh ginger because that's what we use in our house and I sprinkled some raw cashews on for a bit of crunch. The pears melted in our mouths for a sweet, yet light finish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was very good and as it said very elegant. My family would have turned up their noses at the lavender flowers, so I left them off. I couldn't find the pears it called for so I just regular ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States