Baked Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Well, I guess I overdid it on the spices.....cut up an onion and sauteed in olive oil, added hot italian sausage, heaping helping of garlic and italian seasonings, added the brown gravy which MADE this sauce....this came out SUPURB!!!!!!!!!!!!! Served with homemade garlic knots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 8infinity8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Sorry, really odd flavor and recipe. Been making ziti for years and looked for something new and different. This wasn't it. The gravy is not italian and has a strange flavor mix with spices. Better to go with a Maranara sauce than the tomato with seasonings. So, I went on to explore other options and found that first, use a pasta with ridges like a penne. Then, be sure to sue more cheese! Mix is nice but at least use more than a cup shredded mozzarella. Ricotta mixed in with a bit of heavy cream and tablespoon of flour, heated, tastes really amazing by the way (and makes a type of "pink sauce"!). If you are going to make this as is, then try adding a tablespoon brown sugar to the sauce. Just too bland and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I dont care for red sauce. I used cream of chicken instead. I still used the gravy too. I love this recipe. I dont simmer it for the full 20-30 mins. I only do 10-15 than put it in the oven.So if you are sick of the red use cream of chicken or even use one cream of chicken and a cream of mushroom or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Ok so the only thing I changed was that I used sausage instead of ground beed. The dish was ok. Next time if any I would make this with spaghetti or marinara sauce instead of just plain tomato sauce. Using the gravy was a bit weird but I think it will be better with spaghetti sauce. My family and friends liked it but as for me it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elsysgv
Home Town: Asherton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight. Added fresh rolls. Super!!!!! Will definately make again. Gravy was a brilliant addition and made all the difference. Called son to come and he took leftovers home. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This one was easy and good. I was leery of the gravy, but it really worked! My daughter was the only one who really didn't care for it, but when my picky nephew decided to like it, I knew I had a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I too was a little afraid of the gravy, but followed the recipe as is and it turned out really good. Will do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hueytown, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I am not a fan of red sauce and pasta ie: lasagna, baked ziti, or spaghetti.....but this recipe was absolutely delcious!!! Wow!!! My family requested I make some sort of pasta dish and I searched and found this one. The fact that it had brown gravy in the ingredients made me really curious (plus all the rave reviews!). I can't tell you enough how tasty and wonderful this baked pasta was. As usual, I changed up a few things though. I added two cut up sweet italian sausages with the ground beef (seasoned meat with adobo, garlic powder, and pepper); used a 10.5 oz of brown gravy with onions; used 2 kinds of cheeses - swiss and mozzerella (and I layered pasta, cheese, pasta, cheese). The outcome was SPECTACULAR!!!!! Will make this again. It was a BIG HIT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
It was good but not great. I would make it again but definitely add more cheese. It a good starter recipe to adjust to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Oakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very nice my boyfriend loved it, made few changes, instead of a tomato sauce used a white sauce then dont need to add the cream makes it lighter. add an egg when you combine the sauce n pasta, this helps it set, and i added more cheese. very nice will be doing it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States