Baked Pasta with Sausage and Baby Portobello Mushroom White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe! So easy and it had great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
My family and I loved this recipe. We only used about 2/3 of the penne to make sure we had plenty of sauce, and it was perfect. The recipe doesn't state when to add the parmesan cheese, so I added it to the sauce before I added the pasta and it was great! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe. I used sweet and hot sausage and added chicken and asparagus to the recipe. I think the asparagus made it even better. I didn't use the oil because I cooked the sausage first and used the grease to cook the chicken. I also added butter to the veggies when I sauted them. The sauce didn't really thicken up until after it sat out for about 15 minutes. So needless to say seconds were creamier. I would also make more sauce next time or use less penne. This is a keeper dish in our home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is a 5 star recipe before my alterations! It can be a main dish or a heavy side dish. The only thing I did to alter it was add fresh basil at the last and tossed in fresh tomato because that's what I had from my garden that needed to be used. The only complaint (and I use this word loosely) is that it needs some color--either parsley or basil tossed in right before you throw it in the oven with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanieLucy68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I made this recipe mostly as suggested, but I increased the olive oil and left out the sausage to accommodate a vegetarian friend. I would probably make a bit more sauce for the amount of pasta the next time, but I can't recommend this recipe highly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Great!! Used half and half since that was what I had and added some sour cream. Thickened it up with flour and ended up wishing I hadn't - won't do that next time, it was too thick. Also sauted an onion with the mushrooms, great addition. Used Montery Jack cheese since I was all out of mozzarella and wished I hadn't - too strong. I'll probably just leave it out next time, the flavor is awesome and doesn't even need any extra cheese. Already looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Excellent! I did make a few changes to use up what I had on hand. We had leftover grilled beef tenderloin so sliced it thin and replaced the sausage with that. Also added a sliced orange pepper to the saute and a splash of white wine to deglaze the pan after the mushrooms. Also had some grated fontina to use up so mixed that in with the parm and then with the mozzarella and sprinkled that on top before broiling. Oh, and also doubled the cream due to the other reviews that mentioned it could be a little dry. This was really enjoyed by all and we will make it again...next time with sausage. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Yummmmy! Followed exactly and got rave reviews from my honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My husband made this and it was so good! The only change next time will be to add some red pepper or use a spicier italian sausage. I loved it and the left overs tasted even better. My friends were over for left overs and asked for the recipe. We will def have this again....well worth the calories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Amazing!!! I did not use the sausage, as I didn't have any. But I will try it w/sausage next time! I was also out of heavy cream, so I subbed a milk/butter mixture with a bit of flour to thicken it. This is SO easy to make and is sooooo tasty. I was amazed that I'm actually capable of making a creamy sauce that doesn't separate :) I put it over whole wheat spaghetti and sauteed chicken. My husband, father, and even my toddler gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States