Baked Pasta with Sausage and Baby Portobello Mushroom White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I made this recipe mostly as suggested, but I increased the olive oil and left out the sausage to accommodate a vegetarian friend. I would probably make a bit more sauce for the amount of pasta the next time, but I can't recommend this recipe highly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Great!! Used half and half since that was what I had and added some sour cream. Thickened it up with flour and ended up wishing I hadn't - won't do that next time, it was too thick. Also sauted an onion with the mushrooms, great addition. Used Montery Jack cheese since I was all out of mozzarella and wished I hadn't - too strong. I'll probably just leave it out next time, the flavor is awesome and doesn't even need any extra cheese. Already looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Excellent! I did make a few changes to use up what I had on hand. We had leftover grilled beef tenderloin so sliced it thin and replaced the sausage with that. Also added a sliced orange pepper to the saute and a splash of white wine to deglaze the pan after the mushrooms. Also had some grated fontina to use up so mixed that in with the parm and then with the mozzarella and sprinkled that on top before broiling. Oh, and also doubled the cream due to the other reviews that mentioned it could be a little dry. This was really enjoyed by all and we will make it again...next time with sausage. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Yummmmy! Followed exactly and got rave reviews from my honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My husband made this and it was so good! The only change next time will be to add some red pepper or use a spicier italian sausage. I loved it and the left overs tasted even better. My friends were over for left overs and asked for the recipe. We will def have this again....well worth the calories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Amazing!!! I did not use the sausage, as I didn't have any. But I will try it w/sausage next time! I was also out of heavy cream, so I subbed a milk/butter mixture with a bit of flour to thicken it. This is SO easy to make and is sooooo tasty. I was amazed that I'm actually capable of making a creamy sauce that doesn't separate :) I put it over whole wheat spaghetti and sauteed chicken. My husband, father, and even my toddler gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holt, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is an outstanding, and easy, recipe which makes a great dinner. As mentioned by a few others, I added about 1/4 of a thinly sliced red onion along with the garlic. It's amazing how the heavy cream picks up the flavors of everything cooking in it and produces a totally flavorful combination. I used whole wheat penne, which doesn't affect taste but perhaps provides a little more nutrition. Bravo, Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDENHAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
BLAND! It makes so much what a waste of food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I found this recipe in my search for a copycat recipe for a dish at Pomodoro and the finished product was delicious and tasty! No need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I followed this recipe somewhat--I added half an onion to the mushroom/garlic mixture while it was sauteing, used a mixture of hot & mild Italian sausage, and I had some oven-roasted red peppers which I cut up and added to the pan when I put the heavy cream & sausage in to make the sauce. It turned out absolutely fabulous and I will definitely make it again. Though it's a little high in fat, it's a very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States