Baked Pancakes with Sausages Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carolyn Caraloopy
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Heck yeah! I'd never heard of baked pancakes before....I made some adjustments based on what I had on hand. Firstly, I halved the recipe, and it still made three large servings or six very small ones. I didn't have milk, but I did have a single serving size packet of sour cream that came with a salad that I didn't use, so I mixed that packet with 3/4 of a cup of water and that seems to have worked fine. I used smoked turkey sausage and browned the slices in butter first with some garlic powder and crushed red pepper, and put all of that in the baking pan with the melted butter before pouring the batter in. I used 2 eggs and a little over one cup of brand-name baking mix; next time I'll use a little closer to a cup and a half of baking mix to make it a little fluffier/less eggy - which wasn't bad, but I can improve on a tiny bit. I forgot to add the sugar and vanilla I intended to use, but it didn't matter when served with real maple syrup. I baked it in a 9" round cake pan in a countertop convection oven at 405 for about 15 minutes; I'll add 3-4 minutes to the cooking time next time. I was amazed at how much these fluffed up and how delicious it was. Yay for a fantastic turnout on a first-time attempt at something I had never even heard of!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Caraloopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Holy Cow this was good! I added some vanilla, subbed olive oil for the shortening, subbed evaporated cane juice crystals for the sugar, and used 1 cup unbleached white flour plus 3/4 cup organic whole wheat flour. I preheated the pan, then coated it pretty good with olive oil and continued to heat it until it was nice and hot. The edges and bottom came out perfectly lightly crispy and the inside was light and fluffy, even with the whole wheat flour I substituted. When they came out I brushed them with melted butter and warmed pure maple syrup. A big hit! I froze leftovers for later in the week, hopefully they will reheat well (I can never get regular pancakes to reheat well as they always seem to come out dry as leftovers.) Either way, this recipe is a keeper. I absolutely hate to stand and flip pancakes... Can't get them out fast enough and we can't all eat at the same time, etc... Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
this dish is called toad-in-th-hole in Britain and is used a lot for a dinner dish using a deeper 9" dish to cook it in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ThoseCrazySims
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I started homeschooling, and to get my children acquainted with cooking, we rotate one meal each day. I needed something easy and found this recipe. It was perfect, then I remembered it on Valentine’s Day and it was GREAT!! The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoseCrazySims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
simple easy dinner. 3 of us liked it, my one picky son did not. I think in the future I would use bulk pork and sprinkle it over the top so that you get a bite of sausage with each bite of pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made these in a muffin tin and cut the sausages in half so they would fit. They were fantastic and my kids devoured them! Fill muffin cups 3/4 full and place sausage half on top, then bake at 450 for 9 minutes. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveMy3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was pretty good and easy. Kids liked it a lot. I thought I should find a better pancake batter, but it is still worth making as is. This is great for the kids to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Really good, especially when I don't have the time/energy to stand there and fry individual cakes. My family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These were delicious! I used butter instead of shortening and ground sausage instead of links because that is all I had on hand. I also sprinkled some brown sugar on top before baking. Everyone in the family really enjoyed these. Great easy recipe!! Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I cut the links into bite size pieces and cook them with bite size pieces of one apple then mixed into the batter adding a little maple syrup, we really like it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States