Baked Onion Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
My husband loved this dip!!! I followed another recommendation and used 1 package reduced fat philly cream cheese, 1/2 cup lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo and it did not turn out greasy at all. I also added half swiss cheese and half cheddar and that made it perfect!! Would highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Try baking this dish in a "bread bowl". I have found that the bread absorbes the oil. The dip itself is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This was great. I made changed based on other reviews. I cut the recipe in half. I used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream. I used 4 ounces cream cheese and 4 ounces cheddar. It was wonderful and not greasy at all. I will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This recipe is quick, easy, cheap and incredibly good. I made this one Saturday afternoon for friends who were coming over to watch some t.v and just hang out...it was gone within a good 15-20 minutes. For those that complain about the grease, I suggest doing 1 cup mayonaise and 1 cup sour cream to cut down on the grease. You could also use reduced-fat cheddar cheese and mayonaise. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I used a monteray/cheddar blend for the cheese and it was not greasy. Be sure to cut the recipe in half for a small crowd as it makes a lot! Otherwise great! I also added the leftovers to a cheddar rice soup for added flavor. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is a really quick and easy dip to prepare. I whipped the ingredients together in no time before a New Year's party, and then jumped in the shower. When I was out of the tub, the dish was ready. I wish reviewers would stop complaining about the grease. There is mayonnaise in the dip, of course it's greasy. Very easy to repair the grease issue, though-just get a few paper towels and sop it up. This dip was gone in about an hour. Thank you for the recipe - and Jamieson loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I really loved the taste of this dip but it was way to greasy. I was hoping that using low fat cheese and mayo it would be ok..but it wasnt. I doubt I would make this dip again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Absolutely awful. I used light mayo and still had literally 1-1/2 cups of grease just swimming in it. (And that's what I could drain.) The mayo curdled during baking. I couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
People at my party loved this dip. I must have five people ask me for the receipe. Lot's oohh's and ah's. I followed one of the reviewer's suggestions with half cheddar and half swiss and mix in parm cheese, plus added it on top. It was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This dip was a HUGE hit at our family Christmas!! If you loves hot cheese and onion, this one is the BEST! I served with crackers and it went quickly. So easy too. Would work well with chips too. I used old cheddar and white onions. Mmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Brunsdon Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States